Home / News / DEHD SHARE VIDEO FOR “ON MY SIDE”

DEHD SHARE VIDEO FOR “ON MY SIDE”

Today, Chicago trio Dehd share their new video and single, “On My Side.” The song comes from their forthcoming debut full-length, Water, out 5/10 on Fire Talk. The song is one of the more emotionally raw songs off the record, and features a chill-inducing chorus from singer/bassist Emily Kempf. The video, which also features Kempf prominently (exclusively, one might say!), was shot as the band traveled back to Chicago from this year’s SXSW.

“We shot this video on our way home from this year’s South By. The wide-open spaces of rural Texas have a certain magic that’s so different from the compact, vertical reality of Chicago life. There’s a sort of longing in the distant horizon that felt similar to what’s happening in the song. As we drove north, we kept our eyes peeled for the perfect stretch of land until we found this gravel road a little off the highway.” 

WATCH “ON MY SIDE”

https://youtu.be/FEGUxq2uMFA

WATCH “LUCKY”

https://youtu.be/xOqm5kT7o1k

Dehd is Jason BallaEmily Kempf, and Eric McGrady. Balla and Kempf are both veterans of Chicago’s increasingly fruitful DIY scene (Balla with NE-HI and Earring, Kempf with Vail and formerly with Lala Lala). When they joined forces with first-time drummer Eric McGrady, they discovered they shared a strange and inexplicable chemistry. The music they make — hazy and reverb-drenched, a scuzzy and hyped-up take on surf rock that could only come from the Third Coast — came so intuitively, it made all three feel like they were stewards of something bigger than themselves, even while that very thing is unmistakably drawn from their own personalities.

DEHD TOUR DATES

Wed. April 10 – Beloit, WI @ Beloit College w/ Ohmme

Thur. April 11 – Fort Wayne, IN @ The Brass Rail

Fri. April 12 – Indianapolis, IN @ State Street Pub

Sat. April 13 – Gambier, OH @ Kenyon College

Fri. May 10 – Chicago, IL @ Empty Bottle

Mon. May 13 – Detroit, MI @ UFO Factory

Tue. May 14 – Toronto, ON @ Baby G

Wed. May 15 – Montreal, QC @ Brasserie Beaubien

Thu. May 16 – New Haven, CT @ State House

Fri. May 17 – Brooklyn, NY @ Union Pool

Sat. May 18 – Philadelphia, PA @ Boot & Saddle

Sun. May 19 – Baltimore, MD @ Joe Squared

Mon. May 20 – Richmond, VA @ Richmond Music Hall

Tue. May 21 – Washington, DC @ Comet Ping Pong

Wed. May 22 – Columbus, OH @ Rumba Cafe

Thu. May 23 – Rock Island, IL @ Rozz Tox

Fri. May 24 – Sioux Falls, SD @ Total Drag Records

Thu. May 30 – Columbia, MO @ Cafe Berlin

Fri May 31 – Lawrence, KS @ Replay

Sat June 1 – Norman, OK @ Opolis

Mon June 3 – El Paso, TX @ Love Buzz

Tue June 4 – Santa Fe, NM @ Launchpad

Wed June 5 – Tuscon, AZ @ Club Congress

Pre-order Water here: http://firetalkrecs.com/shop/dehdwater

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

GASHI RELEASES ANTICIPATED SELF-TITLED DEBUT ALBUM

 GASHI has released his highly anticipated self-titled debut album, GASHI, today via RCA Records, available …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.