Joanne Shaw Taylor Announces New Album Reckless Heart Out May 17th

With a singular voice that will stop you in your tracks, British guitar siren and dynamic songwriter Joanne Shaw Taylor will be unleashing her new album in the U.S. where audiences have been discovering her formidable talent that has already blazed a path of overseas acclaim. Reckless Heart, out on May 17th via Silvertone/Sony, is available now for pre-order. CLICK HERE and receive instant downloads of “In The Mood,” “Break My Heart Anyway,” “Bad Love,” and the swaggy, groove-based “The Best Thing.” CLICK HERE to watch the new music video for “Bad Love,” a propulsive and fiery track about skipping town to avoid a heartbreaker.

On the heels of playing to packed venues across the UK, Joanne – a powerhouse performer – will bring her enthralling live show to the States for a run of headline dates and festivals across the country. The U.S. tour kicks off May 17th in celebration of the release of Reckless Heartand will continue through the fall. Tickets are on sale now at For a taste of what’s in store, CLICK HERE to check out Joanne‘s live performance on BBC 2’sLater…with Jools Holland.

Featuring Joanne‘s smoky rasp that rises from the legend of soul greats, Reckless Heart finds her in glorious form and a mischievous mood, one minute bearing her claws with catty lyrics and the next deliriously in love. Illuminating all the corners of her firecracker personality, Reckless Heart was borne out of a newfound openness and confidence that can only come with life experience. Both a make-up and a break-up album, it was written by Joanne during two phases of a relationship: the fall out and getting back together. The 11-song collection explores emotions ranging from blaring anger to flirty love, from the rollicking “In The Mood” and the gritty, gospel-tinged “Reckless Heart”to the gorgeous, acoustic guitar-led “Break My Heart Anyway” and the unplugged gem “Jake’s Boogie,” recorded entirely live.

In several senses, it’s an album of firsts for Joanne – the first made in her adopted home town of Detroit, the first produced by her close friend Al Sutton (Greta Van Fleet, Kid Rock), the first largely recorded live (with no guitar pedals, and with some of Detroit’s best musicians – among them jazz drummer Ron Otis, bassist James Simonson, and keyboardists Phil Hale and Chris Codish), the first to feature an unplugged solo performance, and the first with her new label home Silvertone/Sony, following in the footsteps of Silvertone artists that she grew up listening to like Buddy Guy, John Mayall and Stone Roses. But it’s also an album that pulls the past into the present. The good-time grooves of vintage, British blues-rock are given a modern makeover, while Joanne‘s cut-to-the-bone vocals take their cue from her soul heroines like Aretha Franklin, Tina Turner, and Mavis Staples.

Reckless Heart Track Listing:

1. In The Mood

2. Reckless Heart

3. The Best Thing

4. Bad Love

5. I’m Only Lonely

6. Creepin’

7. I’ve Been Loving You Too Long

8. All My Love

9. Break My Heart Anyway

10. New 89

11. Jake’s Boogie

Joanne Shaw Taylor 2019 Tour Dates:

May 17                                 Columbus, OH @ Rumba Café

May 18                                 Westland, MI @ The Token Lounge

May 20                                 Chicago, IL @ City Winery

May 23                                 Philadelphia, PA @ World Cafe Live

May 25                                 Fall River, MA @ Narrows Center for the Arts

May 26                                 Boston, MA @ City Winery

May 28                                 New York, NY @ Iridium

May 30                                 Alexandria, VA @ Birchmere

June 3                                   Nashville, TN @ City Winery

June 5                                   Atlanta, GA @ City Winery

July 20                                  Sioux Falls, SD @ Sioux Falls JazzFest

July 21                                  Minneapolis, MN @ The Dakota

July 26                                  Sisters, OR @ Sisters Rhythm & Brews Fest

August 9                              Delafield, WI @ Waukesha Rotary Blues Fest

August 16                           Barcelona, Spain @ Keeping the Blues Alive at Sea

September 5 & 6             Las Vegas, NV @ Big Blues Bender

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

Munk Duane Releases New Single “Sweet Tooth”

Munk Duane’s brand new single “Sweet Tooth” was written, performed and produced by Munk Duane, …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.