WE ARE SCIENTISTS Release New Track “Give It Up”

Brooklyn-based power-pop troupe WE ARE SCIENTISTS have just released the brand new single “Give It Up“. The song features a stripped down acoustic instrumentation setting the backdrop for carefully arranged, rich harmonies that add power to the track’s heartfelt lyrics.

DSPs: http://smarturl.it/Give_It_Up

Youtube: https://youtu.be/iKde-dPeZQ4

The band is also announcing the deluxe edition of their sixth studio album Megaplex (2018) to be released on April 19th. Despite the band’s non-negotiable rule of 10-songs-per-album, Megaplex Deluxe does in fact include 4 additional acoustic songs, 3 new full band bonus tracks (like the recently released “Second Acts“), 5 demos, and 1 remix.

Now, please don’t think the band is backing down from their 10-songs-per-album credo. In an appropriately thorough essay, the band has laid out their defense: “We Are Scientists has long felt that ten songs is the correct number of songs to be included on an album… ten is *correct,* and any other album-length is wrong.”

The band goes on to dissect their reasoning, “Now, you may think that we’re violating our own ten-song rule with this deluxe version of Megaplex, and to that we say, “You’re an idiot.” A deluxe version isn’t an *album,* it’s a collection, a compilation, a Dionysian free-for-all. It’s the aural equivalent of one of those buffet breakfasts at a German hotel, where you’re mixing hard-boiled eggs and waffles and stinky cheeses and cornichons and those weird pickled fish bits and sour cherry jams, and you’re pretty much having the best time of your gustatory life precisely *because* combining this plunder onto one plate is utterly indulgent madness. That’s what we’re offering here, starting with the magnificently curated original version of Megaplex and then tromping headlong into a veritable Candyland of wonders.”

We Are Scientists will be supporting Snow Patrol on the road this spring, with tickets already sold out in NYC, Toronto, and Minneapolis. The tour begins April 18th in Dallas, TX and visits 13 cities including Austin (4.20), DC (4.26), Philly (4.27), and Chicago (5.7)!

When reflecting on Megaplex and the significance of releasing six albums, guitarist/vocalistKeith Murray says, “It takes a lot of hard work, a lot of honing of craft to make it to six records… I mean, the Velvet Underground never made six albums. The Smiths didn’t. Pavement, Guns N’ Roses, The Stooges — none of them could do it. So, I guess we’re just objectively better than those bands now? It’s just a mathematical fact, right? Van Halen made six with David Lee Roth but only four with Sammy Hagar, so I guess we’re better than Hagar-era Van Halen but only just as good as Roth-era? Which, saying it out loud, makes total sense, yeah.”



1) One In, One Out

2) Notes in a Bottle

3) Heart is a Weapon

4) Your Light Has Changed

5) KIT

6) No Wait at Five Leaves

7) Not Another Word

8) Now or Never

9) You Failed

10) Properties of Perception

11) Second Acts

12) Slow Death

13) Give It Up

14) Your Song Has Changed

15) No Wait at Five Leaves, Under The Sea

16) One In, One Out, Under The Sea

17) Now or Never, Under The Sea

18) Heart is a Weapon, Under The Sea

19) KIT (Demo)

20) You Failed (Demo)

21) Properties of Perception (Demo)

22) One In, One Out (Demo)

23) No Wait at Five Leaves (Demo)


Supporting Snow Patrol

April 18: Dallas, TX – Southside Ballroom

April 20: Austin, TX – Moody Theatre

April 21: Houston, TX – Revention

April 23: Nashville, TN – Ryman Auditorium

April 24: Atlanta, GA – Tabernacle

April 25: Raleigh, NC – Kings*

April 26: Washington, DC – Anthem

April 27: Philadelphia, PA – Tower Theater

April 29: Boston, MA – Orpheum

April 30: New York, NY – Terminal 5 – SOLD OUT

May 02: Albany, NY – The Hollow Bar + Kitchen*

May 03: Toronto, ON – Danforth Music Hall – SOLD OUT

May 04: Detroit, MI – Royal Oak Music Theatre

May 05: Akron, OH – Musica *

May 07: Chicago, IL – The Riviera Theater

May 08: Minneapolis, MN – First Avenue – SOLD OUT

* We Are Scientists Headlining Show

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

Sam Fender Shares “Back To Black” Live Cover Recording

Sam Fender is pleased to share a stark, raw and heartfelt recording of Alan Hull …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.