LUCY SPRAGGAN Announces New Album “Today Was A Good Day,” Shares New Single “Lucky Stars”

LUCY SPRAGGAN is in a good place and wants to share it with the world. Today, she announces her fifth studio album Today Was A Good Day out on May 3, 2019 via Cooking Vinyl. In addition, she has released a new video for the single “Lucky Stars” and is currently in the midst of a string of U.S. shows to promote the announcement. This includes headline shows in Los AngelesSeattle, and Anaheim, as well as performing on the Melissa Etheridge Cruise (dates below). You can pre-order the album here. Watch here

Through relentless touring, her innate songwriting ability and an ever-growing fanbase, Lucyhas achieved an incredible four Top 30 albums in the UK (three of which were self-released and the last of which went to #12), and now Lucy has signed a new record and publishing deal with Cooking Vinyl. Today Was A Good Day marks a new chapter for Lucy musically and personally; her fifth studio album has been produced by Jon Maguire (Callum Scott, Kodaline) and Lucy sounds at her most confident and accomplished.

Last year, Lucy released “Stick The Kettle On,” the first track from the new album, in support of CALM – The Campaign Against Living Miserably and wanted to use her experiences to help others. Her knack for telling a story through her songs hasn’t changed and in the past it has earned her comparisons to Courtney BarnettKT Tunstall and Ed Sheeran. This talent continues on the new album with tracks like “Connie’s Bar,” inspired by a woman she met in Florida, new single “Lucky Stars” and the poignant goodbye song “The Waiting Room” and “Home Wasn’t Built In A Day.”

“I thank my lucky stars for my family” says Lucy about the new single. “I’ve been through some incredibly dark times and although I’ve made many steps forward, I still get anxious and paranoid. This is how I came up with the idea for the video for ‘Lucky Stars ‘- when I feel anxious, I feel like people are staring at me as if I’m from outer space… So I donned an astronaut suit for the entire video.”

Marrying her wife “G” and fostering children has turned life around for Lucy, which she describes as “amazing” and “challenging” and underlines the common theme throughout the album. “We’ve had 14 kids stay with us so far”, explains Lucy. “We are also trying for our own child, so we will see what happens. All this has played a huge part in my writing. It’s an album about growing up.”

Today Was A Good Day Tracklisting

1. Breathe

2. Lucky Stars

3. End Of The World

4. Don’t Play This On The Radio

5. Dinner’s Ready

6. Lightning

7. Home Wasn’t Built In A Day

8. Stick The Kettle On (Ft. Scouting For Girls)

9. Today Was A Good Day

10. Connie’s Bar

11. Love Is The Best Revenge

12. The Waiting Room

13. As The Saying Goes

14. Thanks For Choosing Me



March 18

The Moroccan Lounge

Los Angeles

March 20

The Triple Door


March 25

The Parish @ House of Blues


March 31 – April 4

Melissa Etheridge Cruise

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also


On March 26th, platinum-selling artist and award-winning songwriter Dante Bowe will release what insiders are …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.