Pic by Josh Aldecoa

Québécois artist MUNYA – a.k.a producer, singer, songwriter and performer Josie Boivin – will release her gorgeous self-produced EP Blue Pine tomorrow, but starting today the EP can be streamed in its entirety via Billboard. Listen HERE.

The third installment in MUNYA’s EP trilogy, Blue Pine will be released alongside MUNYA, a self-titled full-length release comprised of all three EPs and Boivin’s first-ever physical release.

Featuring 2018’s North Hatley and Delmano and the forthcoming Blue Pine EP, MUNYA follows a series of themes. All three EPs feature Boivin’s stunning hand-drawn artwork, songs in both French and English, and are named for a significant place in MUNYA’s life – North Hatley for a village in Boivin’s native Quebec, Delmano for Hotel Delmano in Williamsburg, and Blue Pine for Twin Peaks’ imaginary Blue Pine Mountains. Pre-order Blue Pine and MUNYA, out tomorrow on House Arrest/Fat Possum imprint Luminelle Recordings, HERE. See below for track listing and artwork.

MUNYA will perform at New Colossus Festival in NYC tonight at Berlin, and make her SXSW debut in Austin next week. Stay tuned for more information and tour dates here:

MUNYA had only written one song when she was asked to perform at Pop Montreal in September of 2017. Boivin, a classically trained pianist, opera singer, and jazz student, dreamed of making music full time, and playing at the festival made her realize that this was what she was meant to do. She subsequently quit her day job, moved in with her sister and turned their kitchen into a recording studio, where she wrote every day. The result is MUNYA.

Blue Pine, MUNYA’s brightest and most blissful collection of songs to date, follows 2018’s EPs North Hatley (a village in Quebec) and Delmano (named for the Hotel Delmano in Brooklyn) released in October 2018. MUNYA’s songs throughout all three releases are upbeat but ethereal, built around tight, repetitive drums and Boivin’s luminous voice. There’s a lightness to this music, a glimmering simplicity, but with a sense of sadness lurking underneath that gives these songs their true power. “I don’t really understand how I make music,” says Boivin. “I feel like it’s coming from another world.” Other-worldly is an apt descriptor for MUNYA’s music. The songs are at turns playful and melancholy, as catchy as they are strange, light and airy but full of powerful emotion, making for one of the most captivating releases you’ll hear all year.

Blue Pine tracklisting (digital)

  1. Blue Pine

  2. Benjamin

  3. It’s All About You

MUNYA tracklisting (physical)

  1. Des Bisous Partout

  2. Some More

  3. Blue Pine

  4. It’s All About You

  5. Trop Tard

  6. Hotel Delmano

  7. If I’m Gone Tomorrow (It’s Because of Aliens)

  8. Benjamin

  9. Hatley

For more info on MUNYA:

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also


Following the release of their stunning comeback single ‘Hello Spirit’ last month, Swedish duo Slide …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.