Home / News / Devendra Banhart Announces ‘Fragments du Monde Flottant’

Devendra Banhart Announces ‘Fragments du Monde Flottant’

March 1st sees the release of  Fragments du Monde Flottant, Devendra Banhart’s lovingly curated compilation of demos from some of his favorite artists. Collected over a period of many years, these tracks have never been heard before in their current state, and include an unreleased work from Arthur Russell.

Unavailable on digital platforms, this compilation is limited to 2000 copies on vinyl only, each with one of six different colored cardboard packaging and one of six drawings by Devendra. This unique album is a labor of love for both Devendra and Swiss label Bongo Joe, run by Cyril Yeterian.

Fragments du Monde Flottant Tracklist:

Side A –

1) Nils Frahm “And Patterns”

2) Vashti Bunyan “If I Were”

3) Josiah Steinbrick “Fo Baro”

4) Tim Presley “Aura Aura” ******

5) King Tuff “Livin On a Star”

6) Adam Tullie “Meridian Hawk”

7) Arthur Russell “Not Checking Up”

Side B –

8) Helado Negro “Lentamente”

9) Diane Denoir & Eduardo Mateo“Señora Diana La Ví”

10) Rodrigo Amarante “That Old Dreams Of Ours”

11) Matteah Baim “Blossom”

12) Jana Hunter “Raising The Dead”

Pre-Order Fragments du Monde Flottant here.

Says Devendra: “I’ve always loved demos, often much more than the final version. In fact, my favorite John Lennon song is a demo; its called “Friend of Dorothy”. It’s a masterpiece. This is an album of demos. You know who doesn’t like demos? The people who make them – that’s who! Wait , wait…. That’s not true. They do like their demos but they are definitely not gonna let anyone hear them anytime soon. They have big big plans for these songs. Fortunately , I don’t mind being extremely annoying when it comes to bothering/begging my friends to let me hear their demos. Unfortunately , I am not a very good dentist. This album could have been called “Pulling Teeth” if ya know what I’m sayin’….

Now, if i may take a moment to say what kind , generous , and patient the sweet people on this comp are. Thank you forever for enduring all of my emails, phone calls , texts, letters, and astral badgering! I am extremely grateful to you – I love you. I would also like to thank my ol’ pal Cyril Yeterian. He also loves demos and happens to runs the label that put out the record you are now holding, so that worked out nicely. I am also endlessly indebted to Dustin Reid for introducing me to Tom Lee, who allowed us a peek into the priceless vault of Arthur Russell’s demos & release this never before heard work from the great master!

Please enjoy this anthology of intimacy before everyone on it freaks out and doesn’t want you to hear their demos (on the bright side , at least 5 of them will show up at your house and pay you the big bucks to get this back!) This comp has taken years and years to put together. Wow. Has it been that long? Yep.

Love Above All  – Devendra Banhart.”

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also


GRAMMY Award winner Sturgill Simpson has announced early details for “SOUND & FURY,” the title of both his …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.