Home / News / Stella Donnelly Presents New Song/Video, “Lunch”

Stella Donnelly Presents New Song/Video, “Lunch”

Stella Donnelly shares a new song, “Lunch,” from her debut album Beware of the Dogs, outMarch 8th on Secretly Canadian. Following biting lead single, “Old Man,” “Lunch” showcases Donnelly’s ability to pinpoint uncomfortable emotional truths in mundane moments. She tackles the life-uprooting nature of being a touring musician with delicately complex instrumentation as she heart wrenchingly sings, “You’ve got plots and persuasions and time to explain // But I’ve only got time for lunch // And I get homesick before I go away.” Watch the video below, created by Donnelly using an early 2000s camcorder.

“This is my favourite song on the record,” says Donnelly. “It was a massive team effort the night before I flew away on tour. A song that was only ever meant to be played on a single guitar and sung turned out to be the most intricate and textured piece of music I’ve ever produced. I wrote this about the feeling of displacement I get when I go on tour and come back and nothing feels the same. There’s a disconnect there.”

Watch Stella Donnelly’s “Lunch” Video- 

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y4ywpWJ9i94

Additionally, Donnelly performed three other new Beware of the Dogs songs — “U Owe Me,” “Allergies,” and the title track — for NPR Music’s Tiny Desk Concert series. “It’s the kind of easy-going, open-hearted spirit that makes her one of the most affable live performers you’ll see,” says Robin Hilton. “While there’s no doubting her sincerity, she’s also got a disarming way of making her often dark and brutal songs a little easier to take in.”

Watch Stella Donnelly’s Tiny Desk Concert –

https://n.pr/2FVO0fo

Donnelly boldly introduced herself to US audiences in late 2017 with the release of the song“Boys Will Be Boys,” which she wrote in 2016 about victim-blaming of survivors of sexual assault. Since then, Donnelly spent much of her time on tour in support of her debut “Thrush Metal” EP before returning to Australia’s chilly winter in June 2018 to record Beware of the Dogs. She enlisted a full band consisting of her best friends – bassist Jennifer Aslett, drummer Talya Valenti, and guitarist George Foster – and worked alongside producer Dean Tuza who helped flesh out the songs without sacrificing any of the intimacy and warmth of her EP. Filled with razor-sharp wit and a charismatic charm, Beware of the Dogs is a portrait of Donnelly taking charge.

Preorder Beware of the Dogs – 

https://stelladonnelly.ffm.to/bewareofthedogs

Stella Donnelly Tour Dates:

Fri. March 15 – Washington, DC @ U Street Music Hall #

Sat. March 16 – Philadelphia, PA @ Johnny Brenda’s #

Mon. March 18 – Brooklyn, NY @ Rough Trade #

Wed. March 20 – Hamden, CT @ Space Ballroom #

Fri. March 22 – Somerville, MA @ ONCE Ballroom #

Sat. March 23 – Montreal, QC @ Casa Del Popolo #

Sun. March 24 – Toronto, ON @ The Drake Hotel #

Mon. March 25 – Detroit, MI @ Deluxx Fluxx #

Wed. March 27 – Columbus, OH @ Ace of Cups #

Thu. March 28 – Bloomington, IN @ The Bishop #

Fri. March 29 – Chicago, IL @ Schuba’s #

Sat. March 30 – St. Paul, MN @ Turf Club #

Tue. April 2 – Seattle, WA @ Barboza #

Wed. April 3 – Portland, OR @ Polaris Hall #

Fri. April 5 – San Francisco, CA @ Cafe Du Nord #

Sat. April 6 – Los Angeles, CA @ Bootleg Theater #

Thu. April 11 – Berlin, DE @ Badehaus

Fri. April 12 – Hamburg, DE @ Skybar

Sat. April 13 – Rotterdam, NL @ Rotown

Mon. April 15 – Cologne, DE @ Yuca

Tue. April 16 – Brussels, BE @ Botanique

Wed. April 17 – Amiens, FR @ La Lune Des Pirates *

Thu. April 18 – Paris, FR @ Le Pop Up Du Label

Tue. April 23 – Cardiff, UK @ Clwb Ifor Bach

Wed. April 24 – Bristol, UK @ Thekla

Thu. April 25 – Southampton, UK @ Joiners

Sat. April 27 – Brighton, UK @ Haunt

Sun. April 28 – Manchester, UK @ Yes

Mon. April 29 – Dublin, IE @ Grand Social

Wed. May 1 – Glasgow, UK The Blue Arrow

Thu. May 2 – Leeds, UK @ Brudenell Community Room

Sat. May 4 – Liverpool, UK @ Liverpool Sound City

Sun. May 5 – Nottingham, UK @ Bodega

Tue. May 7 – London, UK @ Scala

# = with Faye Webster

* = supporting Yak

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

Perfect Havoc Takes Over Dalston Roof Park To Celebrate 100 Million Streams

Hoxton-based record label, Perfect Havoc will mark hitting an impressive 100 million streams on Spotify, …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.