Sir Karl Jenkinsthe most performed living composer, is celebrating his 75th birthday with a brand-new albumtour and a host ofreissues from his immensely popular catalogue – all now available on Decca Records. The new album is entitled ‘Piano’ and sees Sir Karl at the keyboard for the first time, performing original piano versions of his best-loved works as well as two new compositions. The album will be released on 8th February, to coincide with Sir Karl’s UK tour which starts on 10th February in his native Wales – just ahead of his 75th birthday on 17th February.

Click HERE to watch a video of Sir Karl talking about his new ‘Piano’ album

Sir Karl Jenkins’s prolific career spans the worlds of classical, jazz, TV and film music. His new album goes back to where it all started – composing beautiful melodies at the piano. Sir Karl’s new arrangements are drawn from across his choral and symphonic oeuvre, with piano versions of some of his most famous pieces including AdiemusPalladio, ‘Pie Jesu’ from Requiem and ‘Benedictus’ from The Armed Man. There are also two completely new compositions: the jazz-influenced Quirky Blue and White Water – a flowing piano piece in which Sir Karl duets with his wife – Lady Jenkins, Carol Barratt. The whole album was produced by their son Jody Jenkins, making it a true family affair.

Sir Karl Jenkins says, “When I first wrote these pieces, I was thinking about them in an orchestral style, so this album has given me the opportunity to go back to the origins and recreate them on piano in an intimate and personal way. It has been quite nostalgic and also very enjoyable to revisit my old scores and transform them into something new.”

Alongside the new recording, Decca is reissuing Sir Karl’s extensive catalogue with brand new artwork to mark his 75th birthday. The albums are all available now digitally and CDs will be released over the next four months, starting with The Armed Man,Requiem, Adiemus and The Very Best of Karl Jenkins on 8th February.

In addition to these new releases, fans of Sir Karl Jenkins will also be able to see him live, as he conducts a series of concerts around the UK. Starting in Cardiff on 10th February, he will be travelling to Glasgow (3rd March), Birmingham (10th March) andManchester (16th March), before appearing at Classic FM Live at London’s Royal Albert Hall on 24th April. Sir Karl will be returning to the prestigious venue later in the year for a special 75th birthday concert on 13th October in which he’ll conduct some of his best-known works and selected extracts from his new composition, Miserere. He’ll be joined by mezzo-soprano Kathryn Rudge, organist Jonathan Scott, cellist Abel SelaocoeCrouch End Festival Chorus and the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra for the celebratory event.

Karl Jenkins: Piano – Track listing:

1.                  Cantilena – from Adiemus

2.                  Benedictus – from The Armed Man

3.                  White Water *

4.                  Palladio

5.                  Hymn – from Adiemus

6.                  Lullay – from Stella Natalis

7.                  Laudamus Te – from Gloria

8.                  Adiemus – from Songs of Sanctuary

9.                  Agnus Dei – from The Armed Man

10.              Quirky Blue *

11.              Pie Jesu – from Requiem

12.              Ave Verum – from Stabat Mater

13.              Healing Light – from The Peacemakers

14.              I’ll Make Music – from Gloria

15.              In Paradisum – from Requiem

16.              And The Mother Did Weep – from Stabat Mater

17.              The Girl with the Green Eyes

18.              Cancion Plateada – from Adiemus Colores

19.              Only Heavenly Music – from Stella Natalis

20.              Lacrimosa – from Requiem

21.              Kyrie – from The Armed Man

22.              The Mystics

* indicates a brand-new original composition

Vocal scores and performing materials for are available from Boosey & Hawkes, exclusive publisher of Sir Karl Jenkins.

UK Tour Dates:

10th February  Cardiff, St David’s Hall

3rd March        Glasgow, Royal Concert Hall

10th March      Birmingham, Symphony Hall

16th March      Manchester, Bridgewater Hall

24th April         Classic FM Live – London, Royal Albert Hall

13th October    London, Royal Albert Hall

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

Hatebreed Share “Cling to Life” — Listen + New Album “Weight of the False Self” Out Today

Connecticut hardcore metal titans Hatebreed have released their eighth studio album Weight of The False Self via Nuclear Blast today, November 27. The …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.