U.K. rockers Band of Skulls’ fifth album, Love Is All You Love (produced by Richard X), is set for release on April 12 via So RecordingsLove Is All You Love follows 2016’s critically lauded By Default. Fans can pre-order Love Is All You Love here:

Additionally, “Cool Your Battles,” the first song to be revealed from the record debuts today. Of the song, the band explains it’s “an anti war cry for our turbulent times,” adding “All the energy we spend fighting amongst ourselves can be used to do something positive, something real. So don’t forget to go out, to fall in love and to feel alive.” Listen/share it here:

Love Is All You Love was recorded in London’s Miloco Studios, the band’s Southampton studio as well as The Smoakstack studio in Nashville, TN. Following the amicable departure of drummer Matt Hayward in 2017, Russell Marsden (guitar, vocals) and Emma Richardson (bass, vocals) started the writing process for the record and quickly accumulated a host of new songs. Upon collaborating with innovative producer Richard X (Pet Shop Boys, Goldfrapp, New Order, Sugababes), he created an interesting dynamic encouraging a new spirit of experimentation combining live and electronic elements. The album also features percussion from Julian Dorio of Eagles Of Death Metal.

“This record is tough and tender with a rebellious spirit,” says Richardson and Marsden. “It is a positive record. It looks to what is possible and how a little love and human kindness can help bring about positive change. We drew on personal experiences, changes in our situation and couldn’t help but be affected by what has been going on in the world politically, culturally and environmentally. Attempting to overcome that sometimes powerless feeling by creating and connecting with people and making something new.”

Since 2009, Band Of Skulls has released four studio albums while building a reputation as a phenomenal live act. They have since performed on “The Late Show With David Letterman,” “Late Night with Seth Meyers” as well as “Last Call with Carson Daly” and have toured with the likes of Muse, Red Hot Chili Peppers, Queens Of The Stone Age and The Black Keys among others.


1. Carnivorous

2. That’s My Trouble

3. Love Is All You Love

4. Not The Kind Of Nothing

5. Cool Your Battles

6. Sound Of You

7. Thanks A Lot

8. We’re Alive

9. Speed Of Light

10. Gold

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

The HU release unique cover of Metallica’s ‘Sad But True’

Better Noise Music recording artists, The HU debut their ‘hunnu rock’ cover of Metallica’s ‘Sad But True’ today, along with …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.