Ward Thomas Reveal Affecting Video for New Single ‘No Filter’

Pic by Damien Fry

Rising UK stars Ward Thomas (24-year-old twin sisters Catherine and Lizzy), have released the compelling video for new single ‘No Filter’, taken from their eagerly anticipated forthcoming album ‘Restless Minds’ out February 8th on WTW Music/Sony Music.

The video draws on wider themes from the forthcoming album – what ‘the truth’ means in 2019, and society’s pressure to conform. Framed by a group therapy setting, Catherine and Lizzy are seen amongst three others, all of whom silently carry their own burdens and are visibly insecure. “For us, the core message in this song is to learn to accept who we are and to embrace every aspect of ourselves. In a world where we are tempted to cloak our lives in a filter online, we wanted to challenge that culture with real and unfiltered experiences that many of us have witnessed”. The girls say of the video “We all struggle with something – whether it’s our weight, our appearance, our sexuality or anything that might be regarded as ‘abnormal’ in the eyes of some parts of culture. We see young people growing up in this world where it often feels like we are judged on our external achievements or our looks and where people can be so unkind when they have a keyboard to hide behind. So learning to accept ourselves and be happy in our own skin has become harder than ever.”

In the video, emotional backstory footage and vignettes delve into the personal lives of the characters and show what they have been through. No longer bound by their need to hide behind a filter, the façade from each individual is removed and they are finally able to be themselves. The girls explain “we wanted it to represent how exhilarating letting go can be and to show that although self-acceptance can be a difficult journey we are better off if we are honest and strip away the filters”. Powerful, potent and incredibly moving, this is a video that everyone and anyone living in the 21st century can relate to.

Watch the Video HERE

A diverse 15 song collection, Restless Minds was written in Nashville, London and Hampshire with previous collaborators Jessica Sharman, Rebekah Powell and Martin Terefe (Shawn Mendes) in addition to Ed Drewitt (Little Mix), Rachel Furner (Craig David) and Steve Robson (Paloma Faith). The album was produced in London by Martin Terefe and Joe Rubel (Ed Sheeran).

February 2019 (w/ support from The Wandering Hearts)

Sun 24th                                 BEXHILL, De La Warr Pavilion

Mon 25th                               YORK, Barbican

Tues 26th                                GUILDFORD, G-Live

Wed 28th                               BRISTOL, O2 Academy

March 2019

Fri 1st                                       CAMBRIDGE, Junction

Sat 2nd                                    NORWICH, Open

Mon 4th                                 CARDIFF, St David’s

Tues 5th                                  LEICESTER, De Montfort Hall

Wed 6th                                 MANCHESTER, Albert Hall

April 2019

Mon 1st                                  BIRMINGHAM Institute

Tues 2nd                                 SOUTHAMPTON, O2 Guildhall

Wed 3rd                                 LONDON, O2 Shepherd’s Bush Empire

Fri 5th                                      GLASGOW, SWG3

Sat 6th                                                GATESHEAD, Sage


About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

Laura Jane Grace Shares NSFWFH Video For “The Swimming Pool Song” From Acclaimed New Solo Album, “Stay Alive”

Polyvinyl Record Co. and Emmy-nominated artist, author, activist and musician Laura Jane Grace (Against Me!, The Devouring Mothers) …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.