Sumthing Else Music Works, the award-winning record label dedicated to releasing video game soundtracks, and Microsoft Studios, today released the “State of Decay 2” Special Edition double-vinyl soundtrack available to at Recently surpassing 3 million players, “State of Decay 2” is Undead Labs’ sequel to the hit “State of Decay”, which has sold more than 4.5 million copies worldwide. Featuring 29-tracks from the original game score composed and produced by BAFTA winner Jesper Kyd (“Assassin’s Creed”, “Borderlands”, “Hitman”), the double-vinyl soundtrack is presented in a full-color gatefold with unique illustrations by Undead Labs. The album was personally compiled by Kyd and features 10 previously unreleased tracks.* Now available to order, the “State of Decay 2” Special Edition Soundtrack is released through Sumthing’s direct-to-consumer merchandise store as well as Amazon. Download product images here.

Jesper Kyd’s atmospheric guitar and analog synth score for “State of Decay 2” immerses players in a haunting landscape, replete with intense action cues but also moments of reflection and hope. “I wanted to bring out more of the human emotion in the situations you are playing through, and for the music to make the experience feel hopeful as you try to rebuild and expand your community,” explains Kyd.

Describing his approach to the score’s unique musical palette, Kyd added, “I recorded many instruments such as dobro guitar, acoustic guitar, electric guitars, various live percussion, solo violin, solo cello. The live instruments are an important part of making the world of State of Decay breathe and come alive. The broken down post-apocalyptic world needs to be reinforced with the feel of rural Americana; we’re in the American heartland and so the instrument palette was critical to accomplishing an authentic vibe.”

Track Listing:

Disc 1 Side A:

1. State of Decay 2 Main Theme

2. Hot Summer Nights*

3. Into The Fire

4. Promised Lands

5. Disturbance at the Neighbors

6. Uncertain Neighbors*

7. Hope Runs Thin

Disc 1 Side B:

1. Starting Over*

2. Seek And Destroy*

3. New Opportunities*

4. Fields Of Red

5. Forgotten Yesterdays

6. Road Rage*

7. Memories*

Disc 2 Side A:

1. Hills Of My Hometown

2. Not Always Right

3. Time To Act

4. Homestead

5. Friendly Funeral

6. Sneaking For Survival*

7. Running From History

Disc 2 Side B:

1. The Hunt*

2. Unfriendly Neighbors*

3. Moving In*

4. Along The Perimeter

5. Zombie Brawl

6. What Might Have Been

7. Friendly Fire

8. Land of Plenty

*Previously unreleased.

“State of Decay 2” is the ultimate zombie survival game in an open world where you and up to three friends build a community of survivors. It’s up to you to establish a base, develop your characters’ abilities, and manage resources to survive as a group in a post-apocalyptic world where choices matter and every decision has lasting consequences. How Will You Survive?

“State of Decay 2” is available now on Xbox One and on Windows PC. For more information, visit the official website at

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also


Columbia Records has announced Show Pony, the eagerly awaited EP from country artist and songwriter Orville …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.