Home / News / Jaye Bartell to release new EP “8 Covers” on January 9. First track revealed today

Jaye Bartell to release new EP “8 Covers” on January 9. First track revealed today

On January 9 Jaye Bartell will release a new EP entitled 8 Covers via Sinderlyn.  Today, he reveals the first track by way of a video for his take on Yoko Ono’s “Let Me Count The Ways” of which he notes:

“This video is a scavenger hunt for numbers-related images. The only preplanned site was the double-ended countdown clock in Union Square because it’s so overtly tallying, and in all directions, but the rest were found along the way. Yoko Ono’s beautiful song describes such a sweet, natural love and affection for the world and the personal details of experiencing it. I wanted to work out the numbers concept with the same ease and wonderment.

Things change so relentlessly and this video is a thank you to all we can see while it’s there. The camera work is nothing special, but I follow the example of the diary films of Jonas Mekas, who turns 96 in two weeks. The title of one of his films says this all more succinctly: “As I Was Moving Ahead Occasionally I Saw Brief Glimpses of Beauty.” Watch the video here

Be it through music, poetry, prose, or visual arts, Jaye Bartell’s work revels in the space between moments of certainty, highlighting and often exulting the insistent impermanence of human experience. To witness Bartell live is to confront this in full.

It is fitting then that Bartell’s upcoming release is a series of 8 covers, each of which at one point appeared as part of his arresting live performance, folded seamlessly into the ethos and energy of Bartell’s own compositions.

8 Covers pulls from the varied catalogs of Carly Simon to Broadcast to Jean Ritchie, each track filtered through his distinct point of view, resulting in yet another breathtaking exultation from Jaye Bartell.

Jaye Bartell // 8 Covers

Sinderlyn // January 9, 2019


1.) Allowance

2.) Come On Let’s Go

3.) Coming Around Again

4.) Hold On

5.) It Was A Very Good Year

6.) Let Me Count The Ways

7.) Morning Come Maria Gone

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

Queens Rapper MRG Provides A Lesson In Love In Eerie New ‘Brokenhearted’ Video

Dominican-American rapper MRG (Queens, NY native Matthew Raymond Guzmán) shares the striking visuals for his new …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.