John J Presley Announces Album ‘As The Night Draws In’

Celebrated mood-maker and electric bluesman John J Presley has announced details of his debut album: As The Night Draws In will be released physically and digitally on January 25th 2019 through Nica Records/AWAL and BMG.

Alongside the title unveiling, Presley has released the visuals for his menacing new single ‘Rise And Fall’. Watch here.

This latest release from the forthcoming album has continued to gain a massive trajectory of support across the board after the first single True Love Waits. Presley sees support from every corner – from Cerys Matthews (BBC Radio 2) to BBC Radio 1 indie anthem conductor Jack Saunders, long term supporters John Kennedy and Radio X. Rise and Fall is also currently sitting high on the Amazing Radio A-list.

As The Night Draws In sees Presley draw deeper than ever before in his songwriting and arranging – sweeping orchestral lines coupled with menacing drones and experimental flourishes, conjuring up his more evocative side. The roots of his sound though remain in the blues, and his distinctly unique guitar tone, which has already gained him an army of fans, is still very much intact.

Speaking on the new record, John says:

“This album is a collection of workings from the last ten years. I wanted the body of work to show all sides of the music I make – not all riffs but some moments of clarity and tenderness too. It’s a reflection of frustrations and anxieties but also seeing a glimmer of light. A light to hold on to most certainly. It’s the deepest and broadest body of work I’ve done to date”.

Presley grew up in the West Midlands and over the past few years has lived in London and Brighton – which he now calls home. Birmingham was where he began to play and tread the boards and as soon as his debut single release hit the airwaves through Zane Lowe on Radio 1 his live show was very much in demand. The journey started there and after 2 hugely successful singles and EP release, Presley is now ready to sign off on his first long player.

His approach to challenging genre limitations has put his trademark skills in high demand, notably playing as part of Duke Garwood’s live band, as well as previously performing on guitar duties for the live show surrounding Ed Harcourt’s latest release.

Lyrically, As The Night Draws In shows Presley pulling and pushing against frustrations and anxieties; a narrative about exploring and finding the ultimate freedom.

Presley’s musical arsenal includes an old Gibson ES 125t, Hofner President and Fender Telecaster (to name a few), coupled with his love of valve amps and tone manipulation which is a world he also taps into on a professional level when not in the studio or out on the road.

Some time has passed since the last EP release White Ink, which was recorded at Toe Rag Studios (The White Stripes, Metronomy). During this time John was out playing in the live arena, spending lots of time in Europe, where he toured alongside projects such as Paradise (Simone Marie from Primal Scream), Rob Ellis (PJ Harvey), Sivert Hoyem and Rob McVey (Marianne Faithfull). He was also invited to perform at a specialist film festival in Poland and play in abandoned Rothschild factories in the Czech Republic to name a few.

As The Night Draws In was recorded between attics in North London and a secluded studio in North Wales. It’s a debut that bears all the hallmarks of this celebrated electric bluesman starting his next chapter.

Pre-order & pre-save the album at (12″ VINYL/CD/DOWNLOAD)

Track list

  1. The Fear

  2. Left

  3. True Love Waits

  4. Exhale And Go

  5. Riders

  6. And With The Last Laugh I Am Victorious

  7. Dance With Me

  8. Right And High

  9. Rise And Fall

  10. The Fault

  11. Cold Water

  12. St Louis

  13. Truth Is I’m Gone

  14. On A Sunday

John and his band will perform at the following shows…


January 12 – Rockaway Beach Festival

January 26 – London Borderline -SOLD OUT (Blood Red Shoes support)

January 30 – Manchester Soup Kitchen (Blood Red Shoes support)

January 31 – Glasgow Stereo (Blood Red Shoes support)

February 2 – Brussels Rotonde – SOLD OUT (Blood Red Shoes support)

February 3 – Groningen Vera (Blood Red Shoes support)

February 4 – Hamburg Molotow – SOLD OUT (Blood Red Shoes support)

February 5 – Berlin Privatclub – SOLD OUT (Blood Red Shoes support)

February 6 – Amsterdam Sugar Factory – SOLD OUT (Blood Red Shoes support)

February 8 – Paris Point Éphémère – SOLD OUT (Blood Red Shoes support)

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

Beauty Pill Releases New Single “Instant Night;” Watch the Provocative New Video Featuring artist/illustrator Ryan Nelson

Washington, D.C.-based band Beauty Pill is pleased to present their new single and accompaning video for “Instant Night.” It is the band’s third …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.