Aesop Rock and TOBACCO announce joint project, Malibu Ken, release first single and video

Aesop Rock has been credited as one of the most verbose MC’s in Hip-Hop today. Known for his dense and abstract wordplay, he manipulates language to illustrate elaborate stories and difficult concepts with sharp clarity. TOBACCO is also recognized as Black Moth Super Rainbow. Known for working with pre-digital electronic instruments like analog synths and tape machines, he crafts distorted, experimentalist beats that intertwine feelings of tension and anxiety with sensations of bemusement and pleasure. Together, Aesop Rock and TOBACCO are Malibu Ken. The duo have announced a debut self-titled full length due January 18th (via Rhymesayers) and shared a demented animated music video for the psyche-warping first single “Acid King” animated by GUNSHO and directed by longtime Aesop collaborator Rob Shaw.


The 10-song collection exudes a creative synergy the exceeds expectations, as TOBACCO’s heady beats of abstract fidelity and pseudo-futurism provide an unpredictably infectious and sublime bedrock for Aesop’s meticulously detailed (occasionally hallucinatory) narratives. The collection is rounded out by nightmarish sleeve art by GUNSHO, that mirrors the face-melting “Acid King” video. The die-cut gatefold LP & CD sleeves take it one step further by including a perforated pop-out mask replete with elastic string.


“TOBACCO and I have thrown around the idea of doing a project together since we first toured over a decade ago,” states Aesop. “I find his production to be something special, and always wanted to see what I could bring to it. We recently found time to record some songs, and Malibu Ken was born. I brought a few stories to the table, but also did my best to let the production dictate the subject matter throughout. We hope you like the soup.”


  1. Corn Maze

  2. Tuesday

  3. Save Our Ship

  4. Sword Box

  5. Dog Years

  6. Acid King

  7. Suicide Big Gulp

  8. 1+1=13

  9. Churro

  10. Purple Moss

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

Nashville Singer/Songwriter Matt Urmy Shares New Single “Raging Hearts” Off Forthcoming Album ‘South Of The Sky’ (Out Jan. 15)

Today, Nashville singer/songwriter Matt Urmy unveils his new song “Raging Hearts” off his forthcoming album ‘South of …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.