Home / News / Laura Jane Grace & the Devouring Mothers Release Music Video For “Apocalypse Now (& Later)”

Laura Jane Grace & the Devouring Mothers Release Music Video For “Apocalypse Now (& Later)”

Laura Jane Grace & the Devouring Mothers have just released the music video for“Apocalypse Now (& Later)” off their brand new, critically acclaimed debut album, Bought to Rot (stream and purchase). Helmed by Marfa, TX-based filmmaker Emily Esperanza, “Apocalypse Now (& Later)” presents a serene take on relationships amid the chaos we all face in our daily lives via a vintage clip that looks as if it were lifted from the vaults of 120 Minutes. Check out the video for “Apocalypse Now (& Later)” streaming on YouTube HERE.

Additionally, the band has just announced its upcoming Spring 2019 North American headline tour. Featuring supports Mercy Union, the New Jersey rock quartet featuring Jared Hart of The Scandals and Benny Horowitz of The Gaslight Anthem, and Control Top, the tour will take in 29 evenings across the U.S. and Canada and will begin with a visit to Austin, TX for the 2019 SXSW Music Festival. A full listing of dates can be found below and tickets can be purchased via the Bloodshot Records website HERE.

Laura Jane Grace & the Devouring Mothers are Laura Jane GraceAtom Willard, and Marc Jacob Hudson. Grace is a musician, author, and activist best known as the founder, lead singer, songwriter, and guitarist of the punk rock band Against Me! Willard, also of Against Me!, is a drummer who has played in iconic punk bands such as Rocket from the Crypt, Social Distortion, and The Offspring. Devouring Mothers bassist Hudson is a recordist and mixer at Rancho Recordo, a recording studio and creative space in the woods of Michigan, and the sound engineer for Against Me!

Bought to Rot was written largely in motion – on tour, in Spain, Australia, Amsterdam hotel rooms, and some at home in Chicago. Although it’s a step and a twist away from Against Me!’s sonic blueprint, there’s still a kinetic punk energy that vibrates throughout as well as a refreshing sense of variety presented through a vast array of musical textures and lyrics that read like separate short stories. “My approach musically to the record was that I wanted it to feel like a mixtape,” Grace recently told Rolling Stone“Like OK, you’ve got this Nirvana-like song, you’ve got a Cure song. It was musically freeing, in that way, to just be playing whatever was coming to me as I was writing and not having to think about it.”

In this spirit, the album spans a generous host of topics detailing Grace’s fractured relationship with her adopted hometown (“I Hate Chicago”), a tongue-in-cheek centerpiece to the album that has become a bit of a live favorite to Chicagoans and non-locals alike, the act of interpersonal acceptance (“The Friendship Song”), all-consuming affection until our ultimate demise [“Apocalypse Now (& Later)”], complicated romance (“The Airplane Song”), and reconciling everything in the end.

Written and recorded at a breakneck pace, Bought to Rot is finally here and ready to be consumed & dissected: to be loved, to be hated. It’s an album propelled by a sense of restless, forward motion and the inherent need for Grace to continue evolving as an artist and person the only way she knows how. “I don’t want to write about these same things anymore,” she continues. “I need some new sources of inspiration. And I don’t want to be negative. I want to write some positive, happy songs, and I wanted that to be inspired by positive, happy living, too.”

Laura Jane Grace & the Devouring Mothers will be making the following appearances in 2018 and the Spring of 2019. Dates below with tickets available HERE.


29 – Chicago, IL – Lincoln Hall w/ Cory Branan

MARCH 2019

14-15 – Austin, TX – SXSW

16 – Houston, TX – The Studio at Warehouse Live *

17 – Dallas, TX – Keller Theater *

19 – Santa Fe, NM – Meow Wolf *

21 – Phoenix, AZ – Valley Bar *

22 – Tustin, CA – Marty’s On Newport *

23 – West Hollywood, CA – Troubadour *

24 – San Francisco, CA – Bottom of the Hill *

26 – Seattle, WA – The Crocodile *

27 – Vancouver, BC – Venue Nightclub *

28 – Portland, OR – Doug Fir *

30 – Salt Lake City, UT – Metro Music Hall *

APRIL 2019

01 – Denver, CO – The Marquis Theater *

03 – Kansas City, MO – The Riot Room *

04 – St. Louis, MO – Old Rock House *

05 – Milwaukee, WI – The Rave Bar *

06 – Madison, WI – Majestic Theatre *

07 – St. Paul, MN – Turf Club *

10 – Newport, KY – The Southgate House *

12 – Toronto, ON – Horseshoe Tavern *

13 – Montreal, QC – Les Foufounes Electriques *

15 – Buffalo, NY – Rec Room *

16 – Cleveland, OH – Grog Shop *

18 – New York, NY – Bowery Ballroom *

19 – Philadelphia, PA – Underground Arts *

20 – Asbury Park, NJ – House of Independents *

21 – Cambridge, MA – The Sinclair *

23 – Washington, DC – Rock & Roll Hotel *

25 – Carrboro, NC – Cat’s Cradle *

26 – Asheville, NC – The Mothlight *

27 – Atlanta, GA – Masquerade (Purgatory) *

28 – Nashville, TN – Basement East *

* = w/ supports Mercy Union, Control Top

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

RJ Word Unveils New Visuals For “Do You?”

RJ Word criticizes the realm of pop culture and the reality of young romance in …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.