Following the release of his highly-anticipated debut album Village, Jacob Banks premieres the poignant video for his previously released track “Slow Up.” The video was teased last week via billboards in Times Square announcing Jacob as YouTube’s December Artist on the Rise, and is available in its entirety today. Self-directed by Jacob, the cinematic visual captures complete strangers sharing intimate moments, portraying human nature’s propensity towards love and connection over hate. Watch “Slow Up” here, and purchase or streamVillage here.

Village was released last week to wide praise from fans and the media alike, withNewsweek proclaiming “Though Village is Bank’s first release, it sounds like the collection from a seasoned musician. With brooding, voluptuous vocals, Banks is intimidating in vocal tone, but welcoming in instrumental balance.” Nylon featured Jacob as part of their“Out Here” series and raved “Jacob Banks defines soul music as ‘anything that has passion.’ By that definition, he is a true soul singer.” Village is a collection of 14 original tracks recorded alongside notable producers including Paul Epworth (Adele, James Bay, FKA twigs) and Malay (Frank Ocean, Lykke Li, Sam Smith), with highlights including “Unknown (To You)”, which has amassed nearly 15 million streams, and “Be Good To Me” ft. Seinabo Sey, which has been featured on The New York Times’ “The Playlist” (see full track listing below).

Over the past two years, Jacob has gone from opening for artists like Sam Smith, Alicia Keys, and Emeli Sandé to headlining shows in his own right and playing top-tier festivals including Coachella, Lollapalooza, Austin City Limits, and Life is Beautiful, among many others. This winter, Jacob Banks will return to the North America on his headlining Villagetour to play the biggest rooms of his career including LA’s The Fonda and NYC’s Brooklyn Steel (see full list of dates below). Tickets and a VIP package are available for purchase now via http://www.mrjacobbanks.com/.

Village Track List

1.  Chainsmoking

2.  Love Ain’t Enough

3.  Mexico

4.  Prosecco

5.  Kumbaya (feat. Bibi Bourelly)

6.  Slow Up

7.  Grown Up (feat. Nana)

8.  Keeps Me Going

9.  Be Good To Me (feat. Seinabo Sey)

10. Nostalgia

11. Caroline

12. Witness

13. Unknown (To You)

14. Peace of Mind

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

wifisfuneral Releases “eggs”

Switching styles from the dark and foreboding sonics on which he made his name, wifi’s …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.