The Fratellis Frontman JON FRATELLI Announces Solo Album Out Feb. 15th

JON FRATELLI, multi-instrumentalist, singer, songwriter and front man from THE FRATELLIS, announces details of a new solo album. Bright Night Flowers will be released on February 15, 2019 via Cooking Vinyl. The album’s title song Bright Night Flowers will be made available as an instant grat from today and you can listen to the track here.

The album was recorded in Scotland during the summer of 2018 and was self produced with the help of a long term friend, musician and producer Stuart McCredie (Simple Minds, Echo & The Bunnymen, Belle & Sebastian, The Fratellis).

Straight off the back of the last Fratellis album, Jon’s solo material displays a more down-tempo melodic side to his song writing and with echoes of Glen Campbell, Roy Orbison and even Tom Waits, this perfectly-assembled, finely-wrought, nine-track album showcases something very special from his art.

Soul-noir, country gothic, The Big ‘O’ meets The Big Easy, the Heart of Saturday Night meets the West End of Glasgow… Call it what you will, Jon’s second solo ‘joint’ is a little masterpiece and a refreshing change of pace from his previous work.

Jon talks about the making of  the album by saying “Almost all of these songs were written on the piano, which is fairly obvious on first listen. It seemed like the most natural counterpoint to the last album: to move away from fairly loud and colorful songs – some of which were built from mash ups of various ideas – to something gentle that rolled with a bit more fluidity.”

I’d describe this album as playful as well, actually,” he says with a smile. “Heartbreak and emotional pain can also be playful when you know that they’re not to be taken too seriously. Equally, you can’t know pleasure without its opposite. In that respect, black is equally as joyful as white. Life would be very dull if happiness was the only experience, wouldn’t it?


  1. Serenade In Vain

  2. Bright Night Flowers

  3. After A While

  4. Evangeline

  5. Rolling By

  6. Crazy Lovers Song

  7. Dreams Don’t Remember

  8. In From The Cold

  9. Somewhere

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also


Nashville based singer/songwriter Layla Frankel recently released her new single “TLC.” You can listen to …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.