Having released his stunningly beautiful debut album ‘Yonder’ in May 2018, Bristol-based musician Sean Christopher, releases a stripped back acoustic version of the album entitled ‘Yonder After Midnight’ available November 23rd on Dumont Dumont (Ry X, Charlie Cunningham, Josin). The album sees a full re-working of the original record which includes the acclaimed singles ‘A Thousand Hues’ – which as amassed over 3 million streams – ‘Carry On’, ‘Paper Plane Pilot’ and Cherokee. As with the original record, it’s entirely written and recorded by Sean, with each track linked by his use of flamenco guitar.

Listen to a preview of ‘A Thousand Hues (After Midnight)’ here –

Speaking about the new record Sean says: “’Yonder After Midnight‘ is exactly what the title implies; new recordings in a lullaby kind of way of the entire album, recorded after midnight, with just me and the owls awake. Next to the ‘day‘ version which is quite produced there is now a ‘night‘ version too which is best described as up-close, simple, honest and stripped back.”

An alumni of the Royal Conservatory in The Hague and Codarts in Rotterdam, where he studied music production, Sean began creating music for films and commercials immediately after graduating. His song ‘Everything’ (2014), composed and produced for an international car commercial, reached over a million streams on Spotify.

Despite this early success, rather than continue composing music for others, Sean wanted to write songs for himself. He built himself a basement studio and began to experiment with instruments and production.

“I tried all sorts of different instruments, played with FX, and I heavily produced most of my demo tracks,” says Sean. “Although they were nicely produced demos, I wanted the songs to have a stronger coherence between them. One day I was at my dad’s place, playing one of his flamenco guitars, when suddenly the feeling struck me – this instrument was just right for what I wanted. So I decided to limit myself just to this particular guitar. Finally I was writing songs as a musician again, not behind a machine, and it really felt liberating.

I considered using a band but in the end I recorded all of the songs on my own. Guitar first, then drums, then the bass and other instruments, finishing the song with vocals. Not every song is autobiographical, but they all relate to who I am, and it’s very much about how I perceive the world today. Love, loss, fear, youth, anger, you can find it all on the record … somewhere.”

Relocating from The Hague to Bristol last year, Sean signed a record deal with Swedish label Dumont Dumont, home to artists including RY X, Charlie Cunningham and Josin.

‘Yonder After Midnight’ track list:
1. A Thousand Hues (After Midnight)
2. Carry On (After Midnight)
3. Cherokee (After Midnight)
4. Don’t Panic (After Midnight)
5. Paper Plane Pilot (After Midnight)
6. Yonder (After Midnight)
7. Tomorrow Never Ends (After Midnight)
8. Lazarus (After Midnight)
9. Everything (After Midnight)
10. Zanzibar (After Midnight)
11. Asphalt (After Midnight)
12. The End Of My Odyssey (After Midnight)

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

ATB, Topic & A7S join forces on brand new single ‘Your Love (9pm)’

German dance music legend ATB along with Topic & A7S, have unveiled their brand new single, ‘Your Love (9pm)’. A modern reimagining of ATB’s …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.