Home / News / Busted Announce New Album ‘Half Way There’ out on February 8th and New Arena Tour for March 2019

Busted Announce New Album ‘Half Way There’ out on February 8th and New Arena Tour for March 2019

Busted have grown-up without growing old with their fourth album ‘Half Way There’ which will be released on February 8th. It finds the trio returning to their hyperactive pop-punk sound for the first time since 2003’s all-conquering, multi-Platinum album ‘A Present For Everyone’.

The announcement comes after Busted announced the smallest show of their career this morning. They’ll play the 100 Club on Monday and the show sold-out within 2 minutes. In addition, band are also excited to confirm details of a major UK arena tour for March 2019.

James BourneCharlie Simpson and Matt Willis approached the new album with a simple goal in mind: “How do we make the ultimate Busted album?”

They spent a year working on the album. They wrote more material than ever, much of it at Bourne’s apartment in North London where they spent so much time together back when they first started the band. They constantly revisited each idea to make the album as strong as it could possibly be, and also had the opportunity to work with their dream producer Gil Norton, the man behind classic albums from Foo Fighters and Pixies.

The result is an album that expands upon Busted’s trajectory the first time around. It’s a rush of melody and effervescent riffs as they blend huge arena-filling choruses with the classic pop-punk sound of Blink 182 and New Found Glory. Lyrically it’s often reflective and nostalgic (‘Reunion’‘All My Friends’ and a miniBusted autobiography in the shape of ‘It Happens’), but there are some fantastical flights of fancy too in the shape of ‘Shipwrecked In Atlantis’ and a tribute toElon Musk in ‘Race To Mars’.

‘Nineties’ is one of the tracks which will claim a place alongside other Busted favourites such as ‘Year 3000’ and ‘Crashed The Wedding’. Opening in low-key fashion, the track erupts into life by taking us back to the era of Smashing Pumpkins and Macaulay Culkin and the carefree “days of ditching school to watch The Goonies.” The track features a co-writing credit for their old friend Dougie Poynter of McFly.

“I cannot wait for fans to hear this record and to be able to talk to them on social media about it,” says Willis“I just have a feeling that they’re going to love it.”

“If I was a Busted fan, I’d listen to this record and feel like I got my band back,” agrees Bourne.

Simpson adds, “It still has humorous elements and we’re still having a lot of fun, but we have some very poignant songs too. Our fans grew up with us so they’ll be able to relate to them too.”

‘Half Way There’ is Busted’s fourth album and their second after returning with ‘Night Driver’ in 2016. The title is a play on the reference in their huge hit ‘Year 3000’ to the band releasing their seventh album. Now they’re halfway to achieving precisely that, and far ahead of schedule.

Capturing the band’s larger-than-life personalities, the album cover was conceptualised and shot by Rankin.

‘Half Way There’ will be released on streaming, download, CD, black vinyl and coloured vinyl formats. The album is now available to pre-order fromhttps://lnk.to/busted-halfwaythere

Everyone who pre-orders ‘Half Way There’ from https://busted.tmstor.es before 9AM on November 2nd will receive exclusive access to a pre-sale for their new UKarena tour. The pre-sale will commence from 8AM on October 31st before closing at 9AM on November 2nd when tickets go on general sale.

‘Half Way There’ tracklisting:

1.       ‘Nineties’

2.       ‘Reunion’

3.       ‘What Happened To Your Band’

4.       ‘Shipwrecked In Atlantis’

5.       ‘Race To Mars’

6.       ‘All My Friends’

7.       ‘MIA’

8.       ‘Radio’

9.       ‘Nostalgia’

10.   ‘It Happens’

March arena tour dates:

23rd – Glasgow, The SSE Hydro

26th – Cardiff, Motorpoint Arena

28th – Manchester, Arena

29th – Birmingham, Resorts World Arena

30th – London, The SSE Arena Wembley

The general sale launches at 9am on November 2nd, and tickets will be available from myticket.co.uk/artists/busted.

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

Sludge Releases His Second Bone-Chilling Track “Emergency” on Heavyweight Records

The newest bomb from Carnage’s Heavyweight Records comes from up-and-comer Sludge in the form of his single “Emergency,” and it’s …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.