Home / Entertainment / Entertainment News / Back Lot Music Presents BOY ERASED – Original Motion Picture Soundtrack

Back Lot Music Presents BOY ERASED – Original Motion Picture Soundtrack

Back Lot Music has announced the upcoming release of the soundtrack to Focus Features’ heart-rending biographical drama, Boy Erased, which features an original score written by composers Danny Bensi and Saunder Jurriaans (The GiftEnemy). The album will also feature the original song titled “Revelation” by synth-pop singer-songwriter Troye Sivan and Jónsi, the vocalist of the Icelandic post-rock band Sigur Rós. The film made waves when it premiered at the Telluride Film Festival and Toronto International Film Festival in September. The Hollywood Reporter calls Boy Erased “a richly humanistic, emotionally searing drama that sticks in the memory.” The soundtrack is now available for pre-order. It will be released digitally on October 26th and on CD on November 2nd – the same date the film opens in U.S. theaters.

In scoring Boy Erased, Danny and Saunder decided early on that following Jared’s (Lucas Hedges) emotional journey was the key to creating a poignant and beautiful score. Also, being extremely careful not to over-score and therefore “sway” the audience into how they should think or feel.

The entire writing process for Boy Erased – including demos and initial explorations – was recorded using live instruments. Danny, a classically trained cellist layered multiple string parts on top of each other to produce the effect of an ensemble in his LA studio while Saunder, in his Brooklyn studio, recorded choral and other parts with his own voice using similar layering techniques. The duo constantly chipped away at each cue over the weeks as if they were sculptures slowly taking shape. Once the score was near completion, Danny (who also conducts) and Saunder then recorded a string orchestra playing all of the bigger ensemble orchestral sections – which were then carefully ‘layered’ into the cues.

“We chose to exercise a fair amount of restraint in the palette for Boy Erased. Solo instruments include, piano, cello and violin while the accompanying orchestra carefully weaves in and out – sometimes as a small intimate ensemble and sometimes as a full string orchestra. A small boys’ choir, church organ pedals, and sparse poignant percussion are also integral building blocks for the score. The score spans an array of musical styles; from more-emotional, piano driven pieces to complex, almost absurd, kinetic, avant-garde works describing the myriad of thoughts and feelings that Jared might be feeling – about religion, family, sexuality, and the camp itself,” says Danny and Saunder.


  1. Revelation – Troye Sivan and Jónsi

  2. Road Trip

  3. The Rules

  4. Genograms

  5. A Normal Family

  6. Fall Into Line

  7. Holiday Camp

  8. Between Us

  9. The Real Work

  10. Assembly

  11. Prayer

  12. Just A Story

  13. Start To Wonder

  14. Run In The Night

  15. Brandon

  16. Triangles

  17. The Funeral

  18. Fake It ‘Til You Make It

  19. Just A Moment

  20. Shame On You

  21. Cameron

  22. Turned My Back

  23. Who Are You Thinking Of? – Jónsi

  24. Revelation (Vinyl Version) – Troye Sivan and Jónsi

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

Planet Earth II Live In Concert 2020 UK and Ireland Arena Tour

Planet Earth II Live in Concert, from BBC Studios and the acclaimed BBC Natural History …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.