Home / News / SHA LA DAS Releases “Those Years Are Over” Video

SHA LA DAS Releases “Those Years Are Over” Video

Daptone imprint Dunham Records just released the video for “Those Years Are Over” from the Sha La Das ’ recently released debut album   Love In The Wind . At the heart of the group and album are the Schaldas: father Bill and sons Will aka SWIVS (keyboards for Charles Bradley and His Extraordinaires),Paul (guitar & vocals for Paul and The Tall Trees, Charles Bradley and His Extraordinaires) and Carmine. The video is comprised of original 8mm film-footage of the family including Bill’s wife Linda (who is also featured on the album cover) and their wedding. It was also edited & produced by William Schalda, Jr. (SWIVS) with artwork and animation by RUFFMERCY , known for his work with Thom Yorke, Run the Jewels, DJ Shadow and more. Watch “Those Years Are Over” here: https://youtu.be/Aey2Ae4TwQI .

Love In The Wind was truly a family affair. Bill taught his boys group harmonies on the stoop of their Staten Island home growing up and there’s something special when a family can meld voices in close harmony: The Everly Brothers had it, the Beach Boys had it, the Schaldas have it. Brenneck knew he had to get it on tape and had a driving passion to record with them.

For Love In The Wind, the Schaldas have come together with friends from theDap-Kings, Menahan Street Band and more, to create an album that features harmonic sensibilities rooted in doo wop, blues and soul. The album was produced by longtime Charles Bradley collaborator Thomas Brenneck .

The eleven songs on the debut are each a tender-voiced delight delivered with absolute conviction combined with musicians that are the modern purveyors of soul including Brenneck, Homer Steinweiss, Dave Guy, Leon Michels, Nick Movshon and Victor Axelrod . From the opening atmospheric guitar strum of first single “Open My Eyes” via a walk along the Coney Island boardwalk catching the last glimpse of sunlight at dusk of “Carnival” to the sublime crescendo of harmonies of the winsome title track “Love in the Wind,” each song evokes a deeply personal yet universal yearning that none of us can escape.


01 – Open My Eyes

02 – Just For A Minute

03 – Summer Breeze

04 – Okay My Love

05 – Sha La Da La La (Christmas Time)

06 – Those Years Are Over

07 – Do What

08 – Carnival

09 – You Never Know Whether

10 – It’s You

11 – Love In The Wind

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

Ariana and the Rose Celebrates Pride With Anthemic “True Love”

Ariana and the Rose is known for creating “vibrant, club-ready” bops (Consequence of Sound) that …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.