Today, FIDLAR announced that their highly anticipated new album, Almost Free, will be released on January 25, 2019. Album pre-orders are now available HERE in an exclusive vinyl color and also in a bundle with an exclusive album themed shirt. All orders include a bonus 7” flexi disc of “Can’t You See” backed with the non-album track, “Are You High?” which the band released on YouTube and Soundcloud earlier this year.

The band also released a new single, “Can’t You See,” which was premiered globally with a First Play on BBC Radio 1 by Annie Mac and followed by a US premiere on KROQ in the band’s hometown of Los Angeles. Elvis Kuehn (guitar/vocals) says that the song “is about believing you need external things to be fulfilled, when really that comes from within yourself.  Play it loud while driving around Los Angeles and it’ll make sense.”
Listen “Can’t You See” HERE

Jack Saunders, BBC Radio 1 commented, “FIDLAR took three years to kind of work out their next move, and sometimes you just need a moment to realise that actually you don’t need to over-complicate things. Write what’s in front of you, write about what’s around you. ‘Too Real,’ the first new track that they dropped recently, did that and touched on what it’s like to be a young person in 2018. They are carrying on those themes in this brand new song. All about thinking that you always need something to complete your happiness. You don’t, that’s called the Instagram life, that’s not real life. You don’t need it, and FIDLAR are preaching in this new one.”

The song and album were Produced by Ricky Reed (nominated for the Grammy for Producer of the Year 2016) (Twenty One Pilots, Phantogram, Leon Bridges), Mixed by Manny Marroquin (multiple Grammy winner) (Rihanna, Imagine Dragons, Bruno Mars, Sia, Kanye West) and Mastered by Chris Gehringer (multiple Grammy nominations) (Rihanna, Lady Gaga, Twenty One Pilots, J. Balvin).

Almost Free touches on many of the tragedies and irritations of modern life: existential dread, gentrification, the inescapable sway of the super-rich and the self-involved, post-breakup telecommunication, performative wokeness, the loneliness of sobriety or the lack thereof. But through sheer force of imagination and an unchecked joie de vivre, the L.A.-based band manages to turn feeling wrong into something glorious and essential. In the age of joyless self-care, Almost Free makes a brilliant case for being less careful, for living without fear of fucking up, and possibly embracing any incurred damage as a lucky symptom of being alive.

The album sees the band pushing boundaries into new territory and influences while staying true to their unshakable core. “A lot of the vibe was, ‘Well, why can’t we do that? Why can’t we have horns? Why can’t we have key changes? Why can’t we have a harmonica loop?’,” said lead singer/guitarist Zac Carper. “It was about taking the ceiling off. Having it be limitless. Ain’t no rules.” Elvis added “Almost Free feels like a step forward for us in a lot of ways. We tried to be true to ourselves and let the music come out naturally, without fear of how people would receive it.”

Almost Free Track Listing:

  1. Get Off My Rock

  2. Can’t You See

  3. By Myself

  4. Flake

  5. Alcohol

  6. Almost Free

  7. Scam Likely

  8. Called You Twice (ft. K.Flay)

  9. Nuke

  10. Too Real

  11. Kick

  12. Thought. Mouth.

  13. Good Times Are Over

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

Morse, Portnoy, George share video for cover of “Baker Street”

Neal Morse, Mike Portnoy & Randy George recently announced their return to the Cover To Cover …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.