Photo Credit: Albert Mitchell

Palmyra Delran Releases New Single “I Thought You Said That You Were Gonna Kill Yourself”

Guitar rock diva, songwriter, on-air personality and masterful entertainer Palmyra Delran has released her newest single, “I Thought You Said That You Were Gonna Kill Yourself,” off her upcoming album. CLICK HERE to stream the new track. The track focuses on the idea that in our culture of convenience, we sweat the small stuff. “It’s a comment about people who overdramatize small situations in their world, without considering that other people may have heavy shit going on in theirs,” Delran shares. CLICK HERE to check out Substream Magazine’s first look.

“I Thought You Said That You Were Gonna Kill Yourself” is the second single off Delran’s new album, Come Spy With Me, out November 9th via Steven Van Zandt’s Wicked Cool Records in partnership with The Orchard. Last month, Delran released the album’s title track featuring Little Steven, Debbie Harry (Blondie), and John Carlucci (Fuzztones), which spotlights the resurgence of the 60s and 70s punk sound in the modern punk scene. The track was also featured as Coolest Song In The World on Little Steven Van Zandt’s worldwide terrestrial radio show Underground Garage – CLICK HERE to listen!

Delran is inciting espionage and bringing fans along for the ride with the release of her forthcoming album, Come Spy With Me, which stays true to her longtime artistic vision as she assumes producing and tracking duties. The album features a wide range of collaborators including Blondie’s Debbie Harry – who lends vocals on two tracks – as well as Kim Shattuck (Muffs), Cáit O’Riordan (Pogues), Betsy Todd, Genya Ravan, Peter Zaremba (Fleshtones), Paul Collins (Paul Collins’ Beat), Rachelle Garniez, Eddie Muñoz (Plimsouls), “Speedie” John Carlucci (Fuzztones), Mike Edison, Ben Vaughn, Matt Clarke, Dick Manitoba (The Dictators), Charlie Nieland, and even Little Steven himself.

A punk pioneer, Palmyra Delran’s musical integrity stems from years at the forefront of all things rock ‘n’ roll. Packing more melody than her riot grrrl counterparts and more rock grit than most members of the alt-rock boy’s club, her impressive career spans a stint in Pink Slip Daddy and co-founding nineties girl group The Friggs – who released the seminal Rock Candy, shared the stage with the likes of The Ramones and Cheap Trick, and also lent tunes to big-screen classics such as Superbad and Jawbreaker.

When she’s not writing, recording, or touring, Delran bring the rock to the people as host of Palmyra’s Trash-Pop Shindig on Little Steven’s Underground Garage channel on SiriusXM which airs Sundays from 9am-1pm EST and delivers a rebellious range of sweet surf sounds, rambunctious rock n’ roll and everything in between – the sort of eclectic lineup listeners have come to expect from the host Little Steven calls “the Lucille Ball of rock n’ roll.”

Delran’s forthcoming full-length release, Come Spy With Me, catapults the trash-pop maven from the garage into the driver’s seat of the most souped-up set of wheels this side of 007’s Aston Martin – strap in and enjoy the ride!

Come Spy With Me track listing:

  1. Come Spy With Me (featuring Little Steven, Debbie Harry, John Carlucci)

  2. Happy Birthday Middle Child (featuring Debbie Harry)

  3. Tape A Nickel To The Tonearm (featuring Ben Vaughn, Peter Zaremba, Mike Edison)

  4. I’m Satisfied (featuring Genya Ravan)

  5. (If You’d Like To Make A Call) Please Hang Up (featuring Paul Collins)

  6. Walk Away (featuring Kim Shattuck, Matt Clarke)

  7. I Thought You Said That You Were Gonna Kill Yourself

  8. Chica Ye Ye (featuring Rachelle Garniez)

  9. Tragedy Ann (featuring Betsy Todd)

  10. Shortest Longest Story (featuring Cáit O’ Riordan, Eddie Muñoz)

  11. Ballad Of Madface and the Baby (featuring Handsome Dick Manitoba, Charlie Nieland)

  12. Song Of Love

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

CLAUD Announces Debut Album ‘Super Monster’ + Shares New Track “Soft Spot”

Claud has announced details of their forthcoming debut album, Super Monster, to be released on Saddest Factory Records on February …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.