Irish singer-songwriter Rosie Carney’s new single, “Thousand,” featuring acclaimed artist Lisa Hannigan is available now for streaming, sharing and purchasing HERE. The single appears on Carney’s highly anticipated debut album, Bare, which is set for release January 25 via Akira Records/The Orchard.

Of the deeply personal track, Carney notes, “The past few years have been quite a struggle for my family, my mum especially. She’s currently a full-time caregiver for my grandmother (her mother) who is sadly suffering severely with dementia, and has been for quite a while now. We call it the long goodbye as every day a little piece of her leaves us. It’s hard to witness a woman that was once so strong be as vulnerable as a child, but even throughout this struggle, kindness and love have never been absent.”

Regarding the collaboration with Hannigan, one of her musical idols, she continues, “In the past my songs have mainly been on acoustic guitar, but on ‘Thousand’ we introduced drums, bass and cello. When it came time for vocals, I tried harmonizing with myself, which I do on most songs, but it didn’t feel like quite enough…I wanted something richer and deeper. Just before I began recording, I met Lisa at a festival we both played in Cork. She has been a big influence of mine since before I can remember. I was, and still am, pinching myself over the fact that she agreed when I sent her ‘Thousand.’ I can’t imagine anything more perfect than singing it with a woman whose musical footsteps I aspire to follow. It is such a huge deal to me.”

The single follows the release of album tracks “Awake Me,” “Winter” and most recently, “Bare.” Carney’s music has been streamed over 18 million times, and she currently has over 600,000monthly listeners on Spotify. Listen/share the previously released songs HERE.

Carney was born in Hampshire, England and at 10 years old moved to Donegal on the northwest coast of Ireland. Inspired by the rugged and picturesque landscapes of her new home, she began writing music. At 15 she left school in Donegal to showcase her work in New York and Los Angeles, and was signed to a major label shortly thereafter. In 2013 she received widespread attention with a performance on Ireland’s leading live music TV series “Other Voices.” That same year she played London’s Bushstock, the first of many high profile festival billings including Latitude in the U.K., Electric Picnic in Ireland, Seven Layers in Amsterdam and SXSW in Austin. Recently she supported Haux on a 28-date tour of 12 countries, including the U.S. and Canada.

While navigating this meteoric rise, Carney grappled with depression and an eating disorder born from personal trauma. Simultaneously, she struggled to assert herself creatively in a large commercial system, facing pressure to co-write and even change her name—before leaving the major label system altogether. Throughout it all, the one constant has been her songwriting, which is both cathartic and empowering. Bare is the product of that time.


1. What You’ve Been Looking For

2. Bare

3. Thousand (feat. Lisa Hannigan)

4. Winter

5. Humans

6. Awake Me

7. Zoey

8. Orchid

9. Your Love is Holy

10. 7

11. Bud(rose)

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

Saul Williams Releases Music Video for “Dare,” Announces Vinyl Release of Encrypted & Vulnerable

Today Saul Williams released his video for “Dare” — taken from Williams’ album Encrypted & …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.