Home / News / EVERLAST Releases New Single “DON’T COMPLAIN” Today

EVERLAST Releases New Single “DON’T COMPLAIN” Today

Multi-platinumGRAMMY Award-winning artist EVERLAST today (8/17) has released a laid-back new single “Don’t Complain.” The rapper and singer-songwriter brings his trademark raspy flow over a twangy instrumental “about some Hollywood cats I find humorously douchey,” notes EVERLAST. The song marks the second offering from the upcoming WHITEY FORD’S HOUSE OF PAIN, out September 7 via Martyr-Inc.

Pre-order for WHITEY FORD’S HOUSE OF PAIN, his first full-length studio album of original material in seven years, is available now with the instant-grat tracks “Don’t Complain” and “The Culling.” Pre-order the album here and click here to listen to “Don’t Complain.”

Driven by acoustic picking guitar sounds over a laid-back beat, the vibey production of “Don’t Complain” suits his signature flow and his razor-sharp lyrical prowess:

“It’s a ball of confusion

And everybody’s losin’

Living fake lives up on Instagram

But everything’s funny

When they front for the money

While the devil executes his fuckin’ master plan”

WHITEY FORD’S HOUSE OF PAIN is his seventh solo studio effort overall and first studio album of all-new material since 2011’s Songs of the Ungrateful Living (2013’s The Life Acoustic was re-recorded solo guitar versions of previously released songs). The 12-song collection offers an eclectic stylistic sampling from throughout EVERLAST’s nearly-three-decade-long journey.

There’s the self-analytical “The Climb,” a song which in part references his own defenses as well as his eight-year-old’s ongoing battle with cystic fibrosis, one of the chief reasons behind the long gap between records (“To pay for my daughter’s medication/I’mma sell you a piece of my salvation”). Watching her suffer fuels his anger and challenging of God’s existence in album opener “One of Us,” while the dirty delta blues of “Slow Your Roll” suggests a dark glimpse of a world and a growling vocal hook provided by Aloe Blacc, taking us back to EVERLAST‘s underground hip-hop roots.

The album’s centerpiece, “Summer Rain,” is a sprawling, cinematic, Beatles-meets-Tom Waits-meets Neil Young glimpse into the horrors of drug addiction, with “Dream State,” co-produced by Alchemist, a sly stab at the back-stabbing treachery and Faustian pacts of the music business. EVERLAST also offers up a “Jump Around”-style party song in the rousing “Smokin’ & Drinkin.'”

“I just used everything in the tool box,” EVERLAST says humbly about WHITEY FORD’S HOUSE OF PAIN, adding that his family’s ordeal managing his daughter’s illness has given him “a whole different license to learn how to live.”

Track listing for WHITEY FORD’S HOUSE OF PAIN:

“One Of Us”

“The Culling”

“It Ain’t Easy”

“The Climb (Interlude)”

“The Climb”

“Slow Your Roll featuring Aloe Blacc”

“Smokin’ & Drinkin'”

“Oooohh (I Don’t Need You) featuring Slug”

“Summer Rain (Interlude)”

“Summer Rain”

“Don’t Complain”

“Break It Down”

“Break It Down (Interlude)”


“Dream State”

Catch EVERLAST live:

Date               City                             Venue

8/24                Las Vegas, NV         Hard Rock Hotel & Casino (EllisMania XV)

10/14              Sacramento, CA       Aftershock Festival

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

Vic August Releases “Bring Em Out”

Preparing to release his new 7-track EP, “xx” on November 8th, Australian teenage sensation Vic …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.