EXES Announce Before You Go Out 10/5

Bicoastal indie-pop duo EXES are on the heels of their critically acclaimed 2016 debut EP The Art of Saying Goodbye. Today, they announce a new project entitled Before You Go slated for release on October 5th. In anticipation, they also share new single Bones Break. About the track, they comment: For this track, we collaborated with our drummer Peter Martin. Inspired by the constant movement of the snare drum in Dave Matthew’s ‘Crash Into Me’ [after a viewing of Ladybird] we set out to make a contemporary version of songs we loved as teenagers. Taking in influences from Dave Matthews to Death Cab for Cutie, we tinkered away until we created ‘Bones Break’.”

Fronted by Brooklyn-based Allie McDonald and Venice beach-based producer Mike Derenzo, EXES debut EP garnered over 25 million streams across platforms and was covered by the likes of i-D, USA Today, Galore, and more. They’ve had multiple singles chart on Hype Machine’s Top 10 and have been featured on Taylor Swift’s “Songs Taylor Loves”, along with being featured on Spotify playlists such as New Music Friday, Indie Pop, and Chill Vibes. Their singles “Taxi” and “Cain” garnered 2.7 million and 2.3 million Spotify streams respectively, and the band has opened for the likes of Børns and Ella Vos.

Equal parts affectionate and vulnerable in production and melody, EXES seamlessly fuse electronic soundscapes with Allie’s ethereal vocals. Driven by post-youth nostalgia and the people of their past, the duo invite listeners into the whimsically romantic world of their own design with their rare sound. Their new 8-track collection is inspired by a difficult time in their musical careers; feeling desperate and without hope. Through introspection and subsequently finding meaning and purpose, the two came together to create this collection of intimate, almost diary-like songs that remind them of a time where everything could have ended, but thankfully – it didn’t. Be sure to stay tuned for more from EXES!

Listen “Bones Break”

Before You Go Tracklist:

  1. Index

  2. Arrival

  3. Peckham

  4. Everything

  5. Before You Go

  6. Bones Break

  7. Talk

  8. Over

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

Lesibu Grand shares live video of “WFS” following riots at the Capitol

Atlanta indie-punk band Leisbu Grand has just released a new video of one of their latest singles …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.