THOU share “The Changeling Prince” video. ‘Magus’ out on Sacred Bones Aug 31

Today, Thou debut “The Changeling Prince” official video, directed by Mitch Wells.  The track is taken from their new full-length, Magus, incoming on Sacred Bones Records August 31st.

 Wells notes, “We shot this video on the hottest day of summer in a small room in New Orleans with one, barely working, AC unit. We want to thank all the punks, hunks, and freaks who came out to help us get this done. Every person in the crowd was important, and we more than appreciate them putting up with the heat, our lack of competence, and listening to the same song all day long.”

While sonically, Magus may be a continuation of 2014’s Heathen, thematically it stands as a stark rebuttal, a journey beyond the principles of pleasure and pain. It is more the culmination of their recent, distinct three EPs, which all orbit some internal black hole. FFO alienation, absurdity, boredom, futility, decay, the tyranny of history, the vulgarities of change, awareness as agony, reason as disease.

Though often lumped in with New Orleans sludge bands like Eyehategod and CrowbarThou shares a more spiritual kinship with ’90s proto-grunge bands like Nirvana, Alice in Chains, and Soundgarden (all of whom they’ve covered extensively, both in the studio and onstage). The band’s aesthetic and political impulses reflect the obscure’90s DIY hardcore punk found on labels like Ebullition, Vermiform, and Crimethinc. From 2004 through 2016, the band has released four full-length albums, six EPs (some bordering on full lengths), two collaboration records with The Body, and enough material spread out over splits to make up another four or five LPs.

Magus is available August 31st on Sacred Bones Records. For more details and pre-order information, check here.



Sacred Bones

August 31, 2018 

 1 – Inward

2 – My Brother

3 – Transcending Dualities

4 – The Changeling Princ

5 – Sovereign Self

6 – Divine Will 

7 – In the Kingdom of Meaning

8 – Greater Invocation of Disgust

9 – Elimination Rhetoric

10 – The Law Which Compels

11 – Supremacy

Thou Live Dates:

8/31: New Orleans, LA – Defend New Orleans

9/01: Brooklyn, NY – The Knitting Factory*

9/02: Live session on WFMU in Jersey City, NJ

* w/ Uniform

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

CQ the Drummer Announces New EP: Beach Café Vol. 1 Feat Jazz Trumpeter Ryan Montaño

The multi-talented Albuquerque based percussionist, drummer, producer, CQ the Drummer, AKA Camilo Quiñones, is proud …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.