Home / News / Colter Wall New Album ‘Songs Of The Plains’ Out October 12th

Colter Wall New Album ‘Songs Of The Plains’ Out October 12th

Acclaimed singer, songwriter and performer, Colter Wall, will release his highly anticipated new album, ‘Songs of the Plains’, October 12th on Young Mary’s Record Co. via Thirty Tigers (pre-order).

Recorded at Nashville’s RCA Studio A with Grammy Award-winning producer Dave Cobb, the album features eleven songs including “Plain to See Plainsman,” which is premiering today. Listen HERE.

In addition to seven original songs written by Wall, the album also includes versions of Billy Don Burns’ “Wild Dogs,” Wilf Carter’s “Calgary Round-Up” and two cowboy traditionals, “Night Herding Song” and “Tying Knots in the Devil’s Tail.” Each digital pre-order comes with an immediate download of “Plain to See Plainsman” as well as “Calgary Round-Up,” which was released earlier this month.

Of the album, Wall comments, “One thing I’ve noticed over the last few years, in the United States and playing in Europe, is that people all over the world really don’t know much about Canada at all…When you talk about Saskatchewan, people really have no idea. Part of it is because there are so few people there. It’s an empty place—it makes sense that people don’t know much about it. But that’s my home, so naturally I’m passionate about it. With this record, I really wanted people to look at our Western heritage and our culture.”

The Saskatchewan native will tour the US and Canada extensively this autumn in celebration of the release as well as playing headline shows at London Scala and Manchester Gorilla in August. See below for dates including festivals.

The release of ‘Songs of the Plains’ follows a breakthrough year for the Canadian artist, which saw him play a sold out Great Escape Festival show and sold out shows at Servants Jazz Quarters and The Lexington, as well as releasing his critically acclaimed self-titled-debut (#5 on the Rough Trade Best of year).

‘Songs Of The Plains’ Track List:

  1. “Plain to See Plainsman” (written by Colter Wall)

  2. “Saskatchewan In 1881” (written by Colter Wall)

  3. “John Beyers (Camaro Song)” (written by Colter Wall)

  4. “Wild Dogs” (written by Billy Don Burns)

  5. “Calgary Round-Up” (written by Wilf Carter)

  6. “Night Herding Song” (Cowboy Traditional)

  7. “Wild Bill Hickok” (written by Colter Wall)

  8. “The Trains are Gone” (written by Colter Wall)

  9. “Thinkin’ on a Woman” (written by Colter Wall)

  10. “Manitoba Man” (written by Colter Wall)

  11. “Tying Knots in the Devil’s Tail” (Cowboy Traditional)

Colter Wall Live Dates:


Weds 29th                  LONDON, Scala

Thurs 30th                   MANCHESTER, Gorilla


Sat 1st                         SALISBURY, End Of The Road Festival

Sun 2nd                       STRADBALLY, IE, Electric Picnic


About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also


Trojan Jamaica is proud to unveil the latest track from the groundbreaking new compilation, RED, GOLD, …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.