Home / News / Ben Khan Releases New Track “The Green”

Ben Khan Releases New Track “The Green”

Ben Khan has released “The Green,” a latest track from his highly-anticipated self-titled debut album, set for releases on August 10th, 2018 via Dirty Hit – LISTEN HERE.  

Following Khan’s two previous EP’s 1992 and 1000, which helped Khan explode onto the scene upon release, the self-titled record, which was produced alongside legendary PJ Harvey, Depeche Mode and Nine Inch Nails collaborator Flood, mixed by Spike Stent (Björk, Frank Ocean) and mastered by Dave Cooley (J Dilla, M83), channels the likes of Burial,Arthur Russell, and S U R V I V E… stacked with overwhelming intricacies that demand an attentive ear and repeat visits. Playing every instrument on the record himself, Khan uses synthetic, computer-driven sounds to fulfil this desire, but them with organic noises and gathering inspirations from his surroundings, collecting samples on a field mic throughout his travels. 

For example, during a window between the previous EP and the new album, Khan travelled to Kashmir where his father lived and “just walked around and took sounds on my daily rituals.” The trip heavily shifted the direction of Khan’s self-titled record, with his father’s floral art from his textiles business inspiring some of the album’s artwork and many of the sounds he gathered during his journey being sample on the record. The result, he hopes, is a work of “magical realism.” “I like the idea of having something be unintimidating and beautiful, but driven by anger, or driven by sadness” muses Khan.

1. 2000 angels

2. do it right

3. monsoon daydream

4. ruby

5. a.t.w (against the wall)

6. fool for you

7. the green

8. soul into the sun

9. our father

10. love faded

11. dntwanturluv…

12. merchant prince

13. ruby1strecording

14. waterfall

15. warriors rose

‘Ben Khan’ – CD /  Vinyl / iTunes

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

Alexander Biggs Shares New Song “Madeleine”

Alexander Biggs has shared a new single “Madeleine.” Described as an observational piece, the song is an amalgamation …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.