alt-J Announce Reinterpretation Album ‘REDUXER’

alt-J today announce REDUXER, a set of 11 reinterpretations of songs from the band’s third album, RELAXER, reimagined by a variety of hip hop artists and producers. REDUXER will be available September 28 on Canvasback/Atlantic and can be preordered now on limited white vinyl and CD.

REDUXER was hinted at last month when Pusha T and Twin Shadow joined alt-J for a performance of “In Cold Blood” on The Late Show With Stephen Colbert, simultaneously releasing the studio version of the collaboration. “It’s no secret that we love and are influenced by hip-hop, and it’s always been a dream of ours to work with hip-hop artists in reimagining our music,” the band explained. “With REDUXER that dream has come true. We couldn’t be happier with the results. This album is truly global, featuring rappers and producers from all over the world. After a very long time in the making, we are stoked to share it with you all.”

On his collaboration with alt-J, Pusha T says, “I’ve been on festival bills with alt-J around the world for a few years now and was excited to get the call to collaborate with them on this record.

A second track debuts today, a reimagined version of “Deadcrush” by producers TheAlchemist and Trooko, featuring Danny Brown. “Deadcrush (feat. Danny Brown) (Alchemist x Trooko Version)” is available to stream and download everywhere and as an instant-grat now.

Additional contributors include GoldLink, Parisian rapper Lomepal, Berlin hip hop artistKontra K, Irish rapper Rejjie Snow, Australian artist Tuka, Puerto Rican rapper PJ Sin Suela, and London’s Little Simz.

Listen to Deadcrush (feat. Danny Brown) (Alchemist x Trooko Version):

Pre-order REDUXER:

alt-J –  

REDUXER tracklisting

1. 3WW (feat. Little Simz) (OTG Version)

2. In Cold Blood (feat. Pusha T) (Twin Shadow Version)

3. House Of The Rising Sun (feat. Tuka) (Tuka Version)

4. Hit Me Like That Snare (Jimi Charles Moody Version)

5. Deadcrush (feat. Danny Brown) (Alchemist x Trooko Version)

6. Adeline (feat. Paigey Cakey and Hex) (ADP Version)

7. Last Year (feat. GoldLink) (Terrace Martin Version)

8. Pleader (feat. PJ Sin Suela) (Trooko Version)

9. 3WW (feat. Lomepal) (Lomepal Version)

10. In Cold Blood (feat. Kontra K) (Kontra K Version)

11. Hit Me Like That Snare (feat. Rejjie Snow) (Rejjie Snow Version)

Listen to In Cold Blood (feat. Pusha T) (Twin Shadow version): 

Watch In Cold Blood (live on The Late Show With Stephen Colbert):

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

Valencia James Releases “All The Waves”

New York born, Sydney bred dark-pop artist Valencia James is making music for those in …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.