Today Molly Hammar, the Swedish pop sensation hailing from Stockholm, releases her new EP ‘Sex’ (rel 15.06.18) via Cosmos Music. The six track EP features lead single ‘Bath Tub Moments’ previous single ‘Blossom’, three additional brand-new singles, ‘Boy Tears’ ‘Drive’ and ‘One Night’ as well as a bonus track.

Listen to the EP here: https://soundcloud.com/cosmosmusic/sets/molly-hammar-sex-master/s-QWAHT

Listen to the single here: https://soundcloud.com/cosmosmusic/molly-hammar_bathtub-moments/s-Jk5Rl

Molly’s ‘SEX’ EP marks a new musical direction for the artist, who was just fifteen when she had her definitive breakthrough in the Swedish talent show Idol. 7 years later at the age of 22, with 2 gold singles under her belt, she is ready to move away from a pure pop focus, to fulfil her dream of making a soulful R&B album writing about sexuality from a woman’s perspective.

Speaking about the EP Molly said “I’ve been listening to so many RnB artists singing about sex in a very stereotypical way and thought it was about time that a woman got to tell her story and talk about sex from another perspective. I’m feeling powerful, I’m free and proud to be a woman and I want the world to realize that it’s ok to talk about these things. Lead single, ‘Bathtub Moments’ is all about the fact that you don’t need anyone other than yourself to feel good.” says Molly

To realize her vision, she teamed up with Lucas Nord and Nils “Melo” Tull, two Swedish artists that Molly had been a long-time fan of. Molly and Lucas had already written together when they met in a session a few years back. “The things he sang about when we met in that session was almost too outrageous. Even for me!”, she says laughing.

Speaking about the collaboration Lucas Nord said “When the EP concept was presented to me by Molly, I immediately knew this was gonna be something great and that I had to be a part of it. She is one of the best singers I’ve ever heard and to work with her and one of my closest friends Melo has been a dream. I feel like we really managed to take the songs to that place we intended to and I’m incredibly proud of them. This will shine a new light on Molly as an artist and showcase a completely new side to her which I’m very excited for people to see.”

The result is a filterless modern R&B EP that is refreshingly bashful and deeply personal at the same time.

EP Track list

1. Boy Tears

2. Blossom

3. Drive

4. Bathtub Moments

5. One Night

6. Blossom-Bonus version

We can expect more music from Molly this autumn followed by a tour.

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

Floorbird Release New EP ‘Fall Apart Anywhere’

Philadelphia emo/punk quartet Floorbird have premiered a new music video. “Pale Blue Dot” is taken from Floorbird’s …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.