Home / News / Lola Kirke Announces Debut Album “Heart Head West,” Out August 10 on Downtown Records + Releases “Supposed To” Video

Lola Kirke Announces Debut Album “Heart Head West,” Out August 10 on Downtown Records + Releases “Supposed To” Video

Lola Kirke announced her debut full-length Heart Head West today; Downtown Recordswill release the album on August 10. Recorded in Los Angeles, the record is a deeply open account of Kirke’s self-doubt, family matters, social concerns, and personal loves and joys. “The goal of making things for me is to be as intimate as possible with myself,”she says in an interview with Nylon.

Along with the announcement, Kirke shared the upbeat track “Supposed To” with a video she directed herself. The clip is a rollicking look at an aging woman gone wild. “The song ‘Supposed To’ is really about the intense pressure I feel to be what other people think I should be and what I think I should be,” says Kirke. “How rebellious would you feel if you had spent your life just doing things that you felt that you were supposed to do? That society told you to do?”


Kirke is the star of films like Mistress America and Gone Girl as well as Amazon’s award-winning series Mozart In The Jungle. She released her first recording, a self-titled EP, in 2016 to praise from outlets like i-D, who described the songs as “dreamy, experimental Americana.”

Heart Head West also features the previously released single “Monster,” which Rolling Stone premiered and called “full of twangy guitars and Kirke’s breathy vocals… a declaration of wanting to fit into the world.”

Lola Kirke – Heart Head West

August 10, 2018 – Downtown Records

1. Monster

2. Born To Die

3. Supposed To

4. Simon Says

5. Turn Away Your Heart

6. Sexy Song

7. Bad News

8. Heart Head West

9. Out Yonder

10. Point Of No Return (Jim Ford cover)

Lola Kirke will be performing live in Los Angeles at the Getty Center and New York at a residency at Brooklyn’s Union Pool this summer. Catch her at:

7/28: Getty Center – Los Angeles, CA

8/21-23: Union Pool – Brooklyn, NY

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

Jeryko Releases New Single “Friends”

Today, New York City-based alternative singer/songwriter, Jeryko, releases his new single, “Friends”. Stream HERE. “It’s hard to find …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.