Pic by Mark Wilkinson

After selling 6 million records with the resurgent rock ‘n’ rollers JetNic Cester builds towards the 27th July release of his debut album ‘Sugar Rush’ by sharing the debut solo track ‘Eyes On The Horizon’


‘Eyes On The Horizon’is a confident step aside from anything the Australian singer-songwriter crafted with JetCester’s rich vocal tone exudes character and soul, while the drifting, hypnotic rhythms created a road-tripping experience perfect for soundtracking the summer months.

‘Eyes On The Horizon’ was the starting point that inspired Nic Cester to commence work on his debut solo album. Produced by Jim Abbiss (ArcticMonkeysKasabian), the track was recorded during sessions at Officine Meccaniche in Milan and AIRStudios in LondonCester was backed by members of funk-fuelled soundtrack revivalists Calibro 35, who have been famously sampled by Dr. Dre and Snoop Dogg (‘One Shot One Kill’) and Jay-Z (‘Picasso Baby’).

“As soon as I heard the sound – drum loops and soul vibes – I knew it was the direction I wanted to go in and it created the impetus to start my new project,” says Nic“It’s a simple summery song that I wrote after my wife and I spent years living like gypsies, setting up camp in many different cities: from the Middle East to Berlin, back to Melbourne and, eventually Milan. Despite it sounding so summery, I actually started recording this demo on my kitchen table, with Davey Lane [You Am I] on bass, during a long, cold winter in Italy.”

Spanning psychedelia energy, Latin-tinged rhythms and slow-burning deep cuts, ‘Sugar Rush’ is an album that lives up to Nic’s self-declared mission statement. “The goal was to challenge myself to find a new way to express myself musically,” he adds. “I took myself way out of my comfort zone and took a lot of risks. The end result was well worth the journey. It’s definitely my best work to date.”

After a long hiatus, Jet reformed to play some dates in Australia and NewZealand early last year after being invited to support the legendary Bruce SpringsteenNicCester’s solo career doesn’t mean the end of the band, however. Their ‘Get Re-Born’ tour comes to the UK and Ireland in July, and they’re also set to release a new live album.

The ‘Sugar Rush’ tracklisting is:

1. ‘Sugar Rush’

2. ‘Eyes on the Horizon’

3. ‘Psichebello’

4. ‘Hard Times’

5. ‘Strange Dreams’

6. ‘Who You Think You Are’

7. ‘On Top Of The World’

8. ‘God Knows’

9. ‘Not Fooling Anyone’

10. ‘Little Things’

11. ‘Neon Light’

12. ‘Walk On’

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

Valencia James Releases “All The Waves”

New York born, Sydney bred dark-pop artist Valencia James is making music for those in …

One comment

  1. I love Nic!
    I love Jet!
    I`m argentine. Good luck Nic with this new job!
    Greetings from Argentina.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.