Home / News / MICHAEL BLUME Remixes “R U Mad” ft. Shea Couleé and Peppermint of RuPaul’s Drag Race

MICHAEL BLUME Remixes “R U Mad” ft. Shea Couleé and Peppermint of RuPaul’s Drag Race

Michael Blume has premiered his remix of “R U Mad,” featuring legendary RuPaul’s Drag Racealumni Shea Couleé and Peppermint – just in time for Pride season. Produced by John “J-C” Carrand Bill Coleman, the reimagination of the provocative, original track – which appears on his imminent EP cynicism & sincerity (out June 8 via S-Curve Records) – features Michael’s trademark baritone against a disco-synth background, cut with defiant, wig-snatching verses from the Season 9 finalistsCLICK HERE to check out the exclusive, first look of the call-to-arms from OUT Magazine.

“I love how different each of us is, and I think we should celebrate our uniqueness,” says Michael on the inspiration behind the track. “People being different is literally what drives me to create and express and encourage others to be themselves. Let’s just all be exactly who we are and not be mad. I am slayyyed and honored by the fact that Shea Couleé and Peppermint blessed this track!!! I have learned so much from these two talented artists and their profound commitment to self expression, so collaborating with them is a dream. Bill Coleman and John “J-C” Carr killed the remix production and I’m so excited for this one to be out!”
cynicism & sincerity pulls from an eclectic mix of soul, R&B, hip-hop, and electronica to include six songs that could just as easily ignite the dancefloor as they could set a festival field in motion with smooth, indie charm and epic pop ambition. CLICK HERE to watch the music video for “Blunder” which renounces self-doubt and CLICK HERE to listen to “Lifting You,” both from the upcoming EP.
A strong, articulate advocate for self-love and LGBTQ+ rights, Michael’s unmatched vocal prowess permeates everything he creates. Paired with his commitment to activism and his music’s unabashed, honest messages, cynicism & sincerity empowers listeners to embrace their authentic selves by drawing on Michael’s own experiences.
Having recently performed at the Stonewall Inn’s annual PRIDE Reception to highlight the Stonewall Inn Gives Back Initiative, Michael will be making an appearance at Bonnaroo Music & Arts Festival in Manchester, TN this Sunday, June 10. He will also be performing alongside Bay Ledges at The Peppermint Club in LA on June 26 (CLICK HERE for tickets).
Among others, his dynamic anthems have also seen him turn the uninitiated into believers at Governors Ball, Firefly, Lollapalooza, and Bonnaroo. Ultimately, however, Michael Blume has shaped his career by being unapologetically himself.

Cynicism & Sincerity Track Listing:

  1. I Wanna Know

  2. Maybe Love Is True

  3. Lifting You

  4. R U Mad

  5. I Got You

  6. Blunder

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

Gabriella Cilmi releases new single ‘The Water’

Gabriella Cilmi releases her blues tinged new single ‘The Water’ on August 21st. ‘The Water’ …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.