Bad Rabbits Return with “F on the J-O-B” in Support of Time’s Up/#MeToo

Acclaimed R&B band Bad Rabbits are back in support of the Time’s Up and #MeToo movements with the release of their new single “F on the J-O-Band an eye-popping animated video that introduces us to Mimi, and sees justice served in the end. CLICK HERE to check it out. The track, featured on Spotify’s New Music Friday, marks the return of Bad Rabbits‘ upbeat R&B funk, the lyrics and accompanying visual address the serious topic of sexual harassment in the workplace – an intentional juxtaposition.

“We actually wrote this song well before the #MeToo and Time’s Up movements, and it was inspired by women’s experiences in the workplace,” explains vocalist Fredua Boakye. “Now, with everything that has happened in the past year, the song is even more important to us. The song and the video shame and mock the men who feel entitled to sex just because they are attracted to a woman. The narrator in this song is the guy that Mimi deals with every day at work. To the douchebags that sexually harass women, your time’s up. To women, we just want you to know that we support you.”

Bad Rabbits‘ new 7-track album Mimi will be released August 10thPRE-ORDER HERE30 limited edition vinyl copies of “F on the J-O-B” will be available on June 8th at The 7″ collector’s lathe cut pressing is individually numbered and completely crafted by hand. Featuring a flood print with an image that reflects the theme of the track on the inside and hand-screened spot gloss varnish on the cover, these one-time-only records are intended for the true collector.

CLICK HERE to stream another album track “Mysterious,” the perfect introduction to an album filled with O.G. funk and modern sonics, boasting the return of the band’s self-described ‘summertime-palm-trees-Miami-Vice sound.‘ Soundtracked by shimmering synths, heavenly falsetto, ratchet horns, and swaggering bass lines, the Mimi album is a musical romp. A fictional short-haired, dark-skinned, social media-obsessed, voluptuous vixen named Mimi, whose sexuality is ambiguous, stands at the center of the album, where she can be found somewhere in each scene and song as the subject or a bystander. While the sonics on Mimiwill jumpstart any party and provide a summer escape in true Bad Rabbits style, the storytelling found on the album ultimately is a celebration of women of all shapes, sizes, colors and walks of life, whether it be through lighthearted and innocent daydreams, or when things take an unacceptable turn for the worse into sexual harassment territory. Spontaneous and addictive, the mythical, larger-than-life Mimi represents the quintessential dream girl…even if the Starbucks lattes and the selfies go a little overboard.

“We’re countering the stereotypes and telling a crazy story from a female point-of-view,” says guitarist Salim Akram. “We’re not trying to give you the perspectives of a bunch of 35-year-old guys. It’s not about us – it’s all about Mimi. Women need to be respected, period, and we’re telling that viewpoint through the story of Mimi.”

Bad Rabbits tapped the talents of longtime collaborator producer B. Lewis and various powerhouse, award-winning songwriters for Mimi including Teddy Riley [Michael Jackson], Sam Barsh [Kendrick Lamar, Anderson Paak, A$AP Ferg], and Gavin Castleton [The Dear Hunter].

This Fall, Bad Rabbits will play two London shows – October 12th at Boston Music Roomand October 13th @ Bussey Building. Stay tuned for news on U.S. live dates.


1.       Mimi

2.       F on the J-O-B

3.       Mysterious

4.       Ain’t A Crime

5.       Eyes On You

6.       Dollars & Change

7.       After Party


October 12          London, UK @ Boston Music Room

October 13         London, UK @ Bussey Building

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

Nashville Singer/Songwriter Matt Urmy Shares New Single “Raging Hearts” Off Forthcoming Album ‘South Of The Sky’ (Out Jan. 15)

Today, Nashville singer/songwriter Matt Urmy unveils his new song “Raging Hearts” off his forthcoming album ‘South of …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.