Prog-Rock Pioneers CRACK THE SKY Release Two Albums August 24

On January 1, 1976 Stephen Holden of Rolling Stone magazine called the debut album by West Virginian prog-rock pioneers Crack The Sky “…one of year’s most impressive debuts.”  Today, some 40 years later the band will release a pair of albums: Living In Reverse, a new studio album; and Crackology, a collection of the band’s 12 career favorites, both out August 24, 2018 on Loud & Proud Records.

Living In Reverse showcases 12 new genre-defying Crack tracks, while the cleverly-titled retrospective Crackology chronicles a dozen of the best re-recorded gems as culled from the band’s rich and storied 40-year catalog. Track listings for both albums are below.  Pre-orders for both albums begin June 15, 2018, however, fans can get tracks from Crackology in advance (one track per week leading up to release day) exclusively on PledgeMusic beginning May 22, 2018.

Electrifying Living In Reverse cuts like the full-on groundswell of “Raining Rain,” the modernized new-wave sonic uniform that envelops“Jacket,” and the spoken-word seduction of “Home Tonight” all match up quite beautifully with the recast Crackology versions of Crack classics like the one-two punch ’n’ crunch of “Hold On” and “Surf City” alongside the overdriven depth of “Skin Deep” and the reactor-fueled crackle of“Nuclear Apathy.” The latter track is as relevant today as when it was first written and performed in 1978. “They have more of an edge than the originals,” singer / guitarist / keyboardist John Palumbo affirms of the tracks on Crackology. “Those tracks all have more life to them now, and we play every one of them live.”

“I have admired Crack The Sky since their beginning, and have always appreciated their incredible musicianship and sense of innovation,” says Tom Lipsky, President, Loud & Proud Records. “We look forward to bringing fans of progressive rock music the exciting next chapter in the band’s continuing legacy.”

“We’ve been going back in time to try and find ourselves, even while we’ve been looking ahead to the future,” observes guitarist/producer Rick Witkowski. “And we’re looking to bring in new fans who’ve never heard what we’ve done before.” Adds lead vocalist/chief songwriter John Palumbo, “Eventually, you find that everything comes full circle, so it’s fair to say we’ve been quite reinvigorated as artists these past few years.”

Crack The Sky will be playing a special show on Saturday August 25, 2018 at MECU Pavilion (formerly Pier Six Pavilion) in Baltimore, MD for the 4th Annual Veteran’s Benefit Concert presented by Music Healing Heroes to benefit K9s for Warriors and the Wounded Warrior Project.  They will be performing songs from the new album, as well as from Crackology.

Crackology Track Listing:

1.         Hold On / Surf City

 2.        She’s A Dancer

 3.        Ice

 4.        Robots For Ronnie

 5.        Nuclear Apathy

 6.        Lighten Up McGraw

 7.        Long Nights

 8.        Skin Deep

 9.        Hot Razors

10.       From The Greenhouse

11.       Rachel

12.       The Beauty of Nothing

Living In Reverse Track Listing:

1.         Talk Talk

2.         Living In Reverse

3.         Raining Rain

4.         Red Rosary

5.         Hit

6.         Big Dipper

7.         I’m On The Radio, Mom

8.         Jacket

9.         I’m Alright Now

10.       Bang

11.       I’m A Good Man

12.       Home Tonight

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

MADDOX JONES Releases Uplifting “World’s Gone Mad”

Rising UK singer-songwriter Maddox Jones follows up his debut EP (Headspace) with a heartwarming new single, “World’s …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.