Mike Patton’s 1922 Score Available July 20 via Ipecac; Patton Discusses Release via Modern School of Film Podcast

Mike Patton’s (Faith No More, Dead Cross) expanded score to the Stephen King sourced Netflix film, 1922, sees a July 20 release via Ipecac Recordings.

Patton spoke with the Modern School of Film’s Murmur Radio Podcast about creating the music for the film: http://www.murmurradio.com/archive/2018/5/13/murmur-83-mike-patton-forever-22.The podcast also offers a listen to the track, “Sweetheart Bandits 2 ‘We All Get Caught.’”

The 1922 (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack) is available for pre-orders, with the collection available digitally and physically on both CD and hardwood colored vinyl, via this link: http://smarturl.it/Patton1922. Pre-orders receive an instant download of “Sweetheart Bandits 2 ‘We All Get Caught.’”

The release serves as Patton’s scoring follow-up to his critically-acclaimed composition to The Place Beyond The Pines, a musical outing that Pitchfork said served as “the glue uniting the film’s three disparate sections and many different tones” and Movie Music UK said Patton offered an “intelligent way of arranging his collages of sounds into fascinating musical effects.”

1922 (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack) tracklist:

    1. No Grave for Mama

    2. Mea Culpa

    3. Sweetheart Bandits

    4. Death of a Marriage

    5. Murder is Work

    6. Omaha 1930

    7. Farewell Note

    8. “This As Thieves”

    9. Cornfield – (Vertical)

    10. Mea Culpa 2

    11. Elphis

    12. Magnolia Hotel

    13. We’ll Send Her To Heaven

    14. “I’d Come To Hate Her”

  1. Cornfield – (Horizontal)

  2. “Secrets Only A Dead Woman Could Know”

  3. Dead Woman’s Secrets

  4. Problem Wife

  5. The Deed Is Done

  6. The Conniving Man

  7. Sweetheart Bandits 2 “We All Get Caught”

1922 is based on Stephen King’s 131-page story, telling of a man’s confession of his wife’s murder. The tale is told from the perspective of Wilfred James, the story’s unreliable narrator who admits to killing his wife, Arlette, with his son in Nebraska. But after he buries her body, he finds himself terrorized by rats and, as his life begins to unravel, becomes convinced his wife is haunting him.

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

Alice Ray shares new single ‘Why Is It We Fight Like This’

London singer-songwriter Alice Ray has shared her new single, ‘Why Is It We Fight Like …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.