Home / News / Jonathan Davis Releases New Single “Basic Needs”

Jonathan Davis Releases New Single “Basic Needs”

Jonathan Davis of Korn, whose previous musical contributions have yielded two GRAMMY® Award winseight GRAMMY® Award nominations, worldwide sales of 40 million-plus, has released a new song, “Basic Needs” – LISTEN HERE

to listen. The third track released from his debut solo album, Black Labyrinth, out May 25 on Sumerian Records, follows the previous releases “Everyone” and “What It Is.” “What It Is” is currently Top5 on the Active Rock Charts debuted as the #1 most added single on Rock radio.

The new track, “Basic Needs,” continues to echo Davis’ imaginative and genre-bending approach to Black Labyrinth. The album represents the beginning of a new chapter for the Bakersfield, CA singer, songwriter, composer, producer, and multi-instrumentalist. It also comes as a natural step in his evolution, inspired in part by the Ganzfeld Experiment, and the out of body experiences and hallucinations that often accompany it. Davis quietly compiled ideas for what would become this solo effort beginning back in 2007. Writing and recording on the road, he personally contributed guitar, keys, and anything else he could get his hands on to the record. Moreover, the music was primarily recorded live, a departure from Korn’s heavily calculated, meticulous, studio approach to creation.

Davis is no stranger to finding success while pushing the boundaries of music. Throughout over 20 years in music, his presence has coursed through film scores, popular video game franchises, and official remixes for the likes of Steve Aoki and more. Along the way, he has also lent his voice to tracks for everyone from Linkin Park to Tech N9ne.

Throughout May, Davis will finish up his North American headline tour. Remaining dates can be found here:

*with special guests Palisades supporting

May 9                    Cleveland, OH                   House of Blues *

May 11                 Portland, ME                      Aura *

May 12                 New York, NY                    Irving Plaza *

May 14                 Orlando, FL                         Plaza Live *

May 15                 Atlanta, GA                         Variety Playhouse *

May 17                 Silver Spring, MD              The Fillmore *

May 18                 Boston, MA                        House of Blues *

May 19                 Camden, NJ                        BB&T Pavilion

Black Labyrinth tracklist

(CLICK HERE to listen to 30-second clips of the entire album)

  1. Underneath My Skin

  2. Final Days

  3. Everyone (WATCH HERE)

  4. Happiness

  5. Your God

  6. Walk On By

  7. The Secret

  8. Basic Needs (LISTEN HERE)

  9. Medicate

  10. Please Tell Me

  11. What You Believe

  12. Gender

  13. What It Is (WATCH HERE)

Pre-Order Links:

iTunes | GooglePlay | Amazon

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also


Nashville-based recording artists and producers, Louis York have released their anticipated debut full-length, American Griots – The Album today …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.