PREMIERE: Melbourne’s Masters of Melody The Glorious Release New Single “Meteorite”

Australia’s The Glorious are back with a new single titled “Meteorite,”the follow up to the lush and melancholic “Last Game of the Season.” C0-produced by founder Dave Mather and long-time collaborator Julian Mendelsohn (Paul McCartney, Kate Bush), we are pleased to team up with the band for the premiere of the single.

The current lineup consists of founders Mather (vocals, guitar, keyboards), Dan Gard’ner (drums, vocals, percussion) and Joel Loukes (bass). It’s another slice of immaculately crafted vintage pop—a gentle midtempo groove crowned with a wash of lush strings courtesy of frequent collaborator Michael Edwards. According to lead singer Dave Mather, “Meteorite” is inspired by the band’s evolution and attaining a growing level of success and accomplishment with each album and tour.

‘I filtered the themes through our journey as a band, especially the recent period where we had some success and traveled to LA after a long period of toil. The last part of the song is specifically about this trip: “Moving west to east, when we were Kings, going like a meteorite.”

"Meteorite" by The Glorious from the Album 'Kings'

The Glorious take their passionate songcraft to a higher level with the release their all new album Kings on June 1st.  It’s the band’s fourth album and the follow up to their highly lauded 2015 release Falcon.

Founded in Melbourne in 2004 by Mather and longtime friend and collaborator Gard’ner, The Glorious began as a vehicle for Mather’s songwriting before evolving into a full band. The release of a self-titled EP in 2007 immediately announced the band’s trademarks: expertly crafted songs, rich melodies, and atmospheric soundscapes.

After releasing a self-titled EP in 2007, The Glorious joined forces with renowned producer and engineer Mendelsohn to record their debut album, Surrender to the Change. The band’s sophomore album Sweetwater arrived in 2012 and was another collaboration with Mendelsohn. The album was praised by critics throughout Australia and gave The Glorious a major boost in profile. Their next album Falcon was produced yet again by Mather and Mendelsohn, and remains a deep well of masterful musicianship. The single “I Wake Up” was featured in the Fox TV series “Bones.”

Kings Track List:

1)       Green Grass

2)      Meteorite

3)      Last Game Of The Season

4)      Long Life

5)      Saving Me

6)      Can Anybody Sing

7)      Right Meets Left

8)      Easychair

9)      Nth Degree

10)   I’m The Luckiest

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also


Following the release of their latest album Chip Chrome & The Mono-Tones, The Neighbourhood has delivered …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.