Home / News / Sarah Mary Chadwick releases single “Five Months”. New album “Sugar Still Melts In The Rain” Out May 11!

Sarah Mary Chadwick releases single “Five Months”. New album “Sugar Still Melts In The Rain” Out May 11!

Ahead of the May 11 release of her new LP Sugar Still Melts In The Rainvisual artist Sarah Mary Chadwick has released a new single, “Five Months” which you can listen to HERE.

Sarah previously released the title track to Sugar Still Melts In The Rain and “Flow Over Me.” The LP marks the follow up to 2016’s Roses Always Die and is her first for Sinderlyn.   It was recorded and mixed by friend, musician and filmmaker Geoffrey O’Connor in Vanity Lair and Phaedra Studios in Melbourne.

Before embarking on a solo career, Sarah spent a decade fronting the grunge band Batrider. Eventually becoming tired of the collaborative requirements intrinsic to band life, she shifted her focus to songwriting independently, drawing inspiration from “weird old New Zealand musicians” like Peter Jefferies, Chris Knox, and Australia’s Pip Proud.  This inspiration is obvious in Sarah’s performance as she simultaneously savors and mocks the pedestal that her creativity affords her, acknowledging that “it’s a position of power being on a microphone” and how “it’s a desperate demand to be seen. It’s funny and really sad.”

Learning that Sarah’s songwriting is thoroughly autobiographical is perhaps more unnerving than her artistic process of watching sexually charged movies to inspire her art. She drinks, she watches porn, she draws and she writes.  When the blur of the evening fades, what remains is a colourful orgy on the page and Sarah’s recollections immortalized in

Sugar Still Melts In The Rain’s “Wind Wool”: “oh no I’m losing memory, did we just piss away time? And does it matter anyway, I’ll die, you died, we die…”. To Sarah Mary Chadwick, all tragedy is comedy.

Sarah Mary Chadwick 

Sugar Still Melts In The Rain


May 11, 2018

Pre-order: Digital | Physical

1 – Flow Over Me

2 – It’s Never OK

3 – Bauble On A Chain

4 – Five Months

5 – Waiting On A Season

6 – Wind Wool

7 – I Won’t Say Goodbye

8 – Sugar Still Melts In The Rain

9 – Dance Slowly

10 – Felt My Heart

11 – Become Foam

12 – Lost Overwhelmed And Unsafe

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

Sludge Releases His Second Bone-Chilling Track “Emergency” on Heavyweight Records

The newest bomb from Carnage’s Heavyweight Records comes from up-and-comer Sludge in the form of his single “Emergency,” and it’s …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.