Texas three-piece Corusco have been flying under the radar the last few years while writing new music and performing around the country. Today, the band is thrilled to announce what they’ve been working on, their debut album Wake which has been set for release on May 25th, 2018. Produced by Aaron Gillespie (Underoath, The Almost), Wake was inspired by the idea that each song on it’s own is a piece of a larger mosaic that comes together to recreate a variety of memories encapsulated within the album. Along with the announcement, Corusco has partnered with GroundSounds for the premiere of their latest single, “New Year,” a track that was inspired by a first kiss that felt as if it were plucked right out of a movie. “New Year” is one of seven tracks on the release that showcase the band’s growth over the years. Vocalist Aaron Gonzalez had this to say about Corusco’s debut album:

“Wake is the result of us growing, learning, and pushing ourselves to create something meaningful. We’re really proud of these songs, and we’re excited and grateful to finally be able to share it with everyone.”

Stream “New Year” via GroundSounds HERE

We all long to find a way out of darkness and reach toward hope. For Texas indie rockers Corusco, the search for balance is their driving force. Blending elements of indie rock and folk with an aggressive edge, their music brings a balance of ‘punch-you-in-the-gut’ rock and delicate moments of vulnerability. Literally meaning “I shine, I quiver, I flicker” in Latin, the name Corusco conveys the inner battle between happiness and sorrow, experiencing darkness and light at the same time – like light coruscating off water. What started as an acoustic project with vocalist/guitarist Aaron Gonzalez during Fall of 2015, would eventually form into a full band with the addition of bassist Philip Baugh and round out with drummer Carlos Garza. The collection of songs written on the band’s first tour together would become their debut EP, Don’t Give Up, released in 2016.

After a period of playing shows around the country, opening for bands like Valleyheart (Rise Records) and Get Dead (Fat Wreck) in addition to performing at festivals such as MR Fest and Loud!Fest, Corusco would return to the studio in 2017. With the help of producer Aaron Gillespie (Underoath, The Almost), the band tracked and recorded seven songs for their debut full-length album, Wake. Set for release on May 25th, 2018, Wake is inspired by the idea that each song on it’s own is a piece of a larger mosaic that come together to recreate a variety of memories encapsulated within the album.

Head on over to GroundSounds to listen to New Year” Corusco’s debut album, Wake, is now available for pre-order here. To stay up to date on Corusco, be sure to check out their website here.

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also


Tampon Rock follows the dating foibles of the two lead lesbian characters – Deja and …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.