Home / News / Singer-songwriter Meiko announces new album of 90’s reimaginations, ‘Playing Favorites’

Singer-songwriter Meiko announces new album of 90’s reimaginations, ‘Playing Favorites’

Singer-songwriter Meiko will release her new album, ‘Playing Favorites’, a 12-song collection that reimagines a canon of 90’s classics, on May 25 via Chesky Records.

Featuring tracks made immortal by luminaries like The Cranberries, Otis Redding, Erykah Badu, Duran Duran, Portishead, Blind Melon, and Rick James, Meiko leaves her own indelible mark on songs that will have you hearing them as if for the first time. Following up her 2016 release, ‘Moving Day,’ the album is a step in a new direction for the singer-songwriter, as she celebrates songs of her adolescence, using them as a canvas for her own artistic exploration and storytelling.

Meiko’s haunting, gentle vocals and bubbling, tender pop sensibility, shines through on the album, which, despite being written by other artists, feels deeply personal. Her sound transforms the tracks, which in their original forms range from alt-rock to funk to R&B to synth-pop to hip-hop, into her signature intimate brand of acoustic indie-folk pop.

Listen to a haunting rendition of “Zombie,” penned by the late Dolores O’Riordan: https://www.youtube.com/watch?time_continue=2&v=hl2gN3uJs2E

The singer-songwriter now debuts her take on “Crush,” made famous by 90’s pop star Jennifer Paige. Meiko strips down the sultry, candy-colored teenage rush, into a soft R&B-tinged acoustic ballad, pulsing with anxiety and passion that takes on new meaning in her mature tones.

Listen: https://www.billboard.com/articles/columns/pop/8389270/meiko-jennifer-paige-crush-cover-premiere

In celebration of her upcoming album, Meiko will perform at NYC’s Opry City Stage on Tuesday, May 22nd. Tickets are on sale now: http://bit.ly/TheStudioMeiko

Meiko first got her start playing shows in between waitressing shifts at the notorious Hotel Cafe in Hollywood, where she moved as a teenager from Georgia to pursue her music career. She quickly caught the attention of ‘Grey’s Anatomy,’ who added her song, “Reasons to Love You” in their season 3 premiere, kick-starting her career.

Since then, Meiko has released four critically-acclaimed albums and numerous EPs through MySpace/ DGC, Concord Music Group, Universal Japan and independently; toured with Ingrid Michaelson, Sara Bareilles, KT Tunstall, Jewel, Brett Dennen, Hanson, Jewel, Joshua Radin, Mat Kearney and others; and sold a combined 200,000 copies and over 300,000 singles, with over 40 Million streams on Spotify alone.

Her albums have spawned the hits “Boys With Girlfriends,” “Stuck on You,” “Leave the Lights On,” and have been featured in TV shows including ‘Grey’s Anatomy,’ ‘One Tree Hill,’ and ‘The Vampire Diaries’ among others.

Joining her for the album are longtime collaborators, Josh Day (percussion) and Ed Maxwell (bass, synth). Casey Abrams joins the team on bass for the cover of Portishead’s “Wandering Star.”

‘Playing Favorites” tracklist:

1. Zombie – The Cranberries

2. Stand By Me – Ben E. King

3. Crush – Jennifer Paige

4. No Rain – Blind Melon

5. Fade Into You – Mazzy Star

6. (Sittin’ On) The Dock Of The Bay – Otis Redding

7. Wandering Star – Portishead

8. Come Undone – Duran Duran

9. No Ordinary Love – Sade

10. Super Freak – Rick James

11. Show Me Love – Robin S

12. Bag Lady – Erykah Badu

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also


Acclaimed Nashville based recording artists Louis York have released their new single “Don’t You Forget”today via all digital …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.