Home / News / Port Sulphur (feat. Alan Vega / Jock Scot / James Kirk / Gareth Sager) Announce Album Release

Port Sulphur (feat. Alan Vega / Jock Scot / James Kirk / Gareth Sager) Announce Album Release

PORT SULPHUR, an audio collective that’s co-ordinated and directed by Creeping Bent owner and The Nectarine No9 / Sexual Objects guitarist Douglas MacIntyre, are finally set to release the eagerly awaited debut album on the 8th of June 2018.

‘Paranoic Critical’ brings together the collective talents of Vic Godard  (Subway Sect), Davy Henderson (Fire Engines), James Kirk (Orange Juice), Gareth Sager (Pop Group) and the late Alan Vega (Suicide) and Jock Scot together with musicians from the contemporary Glasgow scene which is centred around Green Door studio and includes Sam Joseph Smith, Katy Lironi, Graham Wann and Erik Sandberg.

Available digitally and released on limited edition vinyl, the album features ten brand new tracks including the recent ‘Blow City’ release and the forthcoming single  ‘The Lane’ which features the vocals of Davy Henderson and Vic Godard.

’The Lane’: https://soundcloud.com/creepingbent/3-the-lane/s-gHlMh

Track Listing:

01. ‘Fast Boys And Factory Girls’

02. ‘Caleno’

03. ‘The Lane’

04. ‘Orient Express’

05. ‘Alex Discord’ 

06. ‘Red Star’

07. ‘Olive Avenue’

08. ‘B.L.O.O.D 23

09. ‘Blow City’

10. ‘Dial F For Fake’

The idea for ‘Paranoic Critical’ was conceived when Douglas MacIntyre was going through some old music hard drives he had recorded and since forgotten. Listening again, he found that they contained some sparks of inspiration and these segments became the start-point to begin working under the Port Sulphur moniker. Taking a similar approach to the Luke Rhinehart novel The Dice ManMacIntyre’s recording decisions were sometimes decided by a roll of the dice, not a million miles away from Brian Eno’s collaborative works in the 1970’s.

Somehow, somewhere along the line the songs were further developed with the help of the aforementioned musical collaborators and they began to form a satisfying whole.  The tracks were further dictated by the enforced “only one take” rule, which helped retain spontaneity and invention and the result is a truly innovative collection of songs.




About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

Queens Rapper MRG Provides A Lesson In Love In Eerie New ‘Brokenhearted’ Video

Dominican-American rapper MRG (Queens, NY native Matthew Raymond Guzmán) shares the striking visuals for his new …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.