Home / News / Tim Burgess Announces New Album (feat. The Horrors, MBV, Primal Scream & Ladyhawke)

Tim Burgess Announces New Album (feat. The Horrors, MBV, Primal Scream & Ladyhawke)

On November 16th 2017 Tim Burgess tweeted, asking his followers who they would recruit if they were putting together a band:

“Who would you have in your supergroup? Excluding Charlatans, mine would be: Vocals: Me & Ladyhawke Guitar: Joshua Hayward (The Horrors) Keys: Martin Duffy (Primal Scream) Bass: Debbie Googe (My Bloody Valentine) Drums: Steffan Halperin (The Chavs/ Klaxons)”

The difference was that Tim’s band was not only a real band but they had also recorded an album. As I Was Now was recorded in Cheshire in December 2008 by a group of friends and is now being released, nearly ten years later, on transparent blue vinyl for Record Store Day 2018. 

“We were complaining about how boring things were between Christmas and New Year, so we got together to record some songs. Some songs were more complete than others, others appear on this record more finished than others.”  Tim Burgess

‘As I Was Now’ is released on vinyl on April 21st and digitally a week later. Burgess, is a regular RSD contributor, having released something every year since 2012. The album will then have a full release on May 14th 2018.

Track listing and credits below.

Clutching Insignificance

Vocals Tim Burgess

Bass Debbie Googe

Guitar Joshua Hayward

Organ, Martin Duffy

Drums & Organ Steffan Halperin

‘Just One Kiss (One Last Kiss)’

Vocals Ladyhawke

Vocals & Guitar Tim Burgess

Drums Bass Keyboards & Guitar, Steffan Halperin.

‘Many Clouds’

Vocals Tim Burgess. 

Bass Debbie Googe. 

‘Nik V’

Vocals Guitar Bass Keyboards Programming & Vocals Tim Burgess

Programming James Spencer.

‘Inspired Again’

Vocals Tim Burgess

Guitar Josh Hayward

Piano & Organ Martin Duffy

Keyboards, Drums Steffan Halperin

Another Version Of The Truth’

Vocals & Guitar Tim Burgess

Drums Bass Keyboards Guitar Steffan Halperin

Not Buying’

Vocals & Guitar Tim Burgess

Drums Synth Bass Keyboards Steffan Halperin

‘The Savages (A Table For Their Heads)’

Vocals Acoustic Guitar & Bass Tim Burgess

Guitar Keyboards & Drums Steffan Halperin

Take Me Places’

Voice Acoustic Guitar Keyboards Tim Burgess

Programmed Drums Jim Spencer

All songs recorded by James Spencer at Big Mushroom, Cheshire.

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also


Acclaimed Nashville based recording artists Louis York have released their new single “Don’t You Forget”today via all digital …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.