Home / News / ODESZA’s “Higher Ground (feat. Naomi Wild)” Music Video Morphs Magical Realism Into A Retro 80’s Revival

ODESZA’s “Higher Ground (feat. Naomi Wild)” Music Video Morphs Magical Realism Into A Retro 80’s Revival

ODESZA (Harrison Mills, Clayton Knight) has today released their visual accompaniment to “Higher Ground (feat. Naomi Wild)”, a vibrant journey following three separate women linked through technology, music, and mystery.

With its 80’s inspired wardrobe, production and Easter eggs for the ODESZA faithful (including nods to the duo’s icosahedron logo sprinkled throughout), the video paints a cinematic narrative of three women’s surroundings slowly blurring together through old-school CRT TVs, flickering lamps and decor, evoking a spectacle of magical realism with a hint of “Stranger Things”.

“My vision for Higher Ground was to create a cinematic atmospheric piece about connection and love with a hypnotic quality to it”, says director Nima Nabili Rad. “For me, the science fiction films of the 80’s like Close Encounters of the Third Kind and Blade Runner, always had light as an organic, living, breathing part of the film. Taking inspiration from that, the video was made with the light not only being part of the visual eye candy but as a central character itself. It was fun being the conductor of a symphony of light for a couple of nights!”

Watch the video for “Higher Ground (feat. Naomi Wild)” here: https://odesza.co/higher-ground-video

Also out today are three remixes of “Higher Ground”. Australian duo Flight Facilities share their first remix since a 2012 rework of Miike Snow, Reske, best known as half of the duo Opia, and up-and-coming producer pluko round out the remix package.

Listen to the remixes here: https://odesza.co/higher-ground-remixes

ODESZA kicks off their 2018 A Moment Apart live dates in North America with three shows for over 22k fans in their hometown of Seattle, WA at the WaMu Theater this week. The duo then head to Coachella before embarking on a tour of the U.S. followed by headline performances at Lollapalooza, Hangout Festival, Firefly Festival and Panorama. Additionally, ODESZA returns to Morrison, CO’s Red Rocks Amphitheatre in June for their fourth annual sold-out shows.

Last week, ODESZA landed in the top ten of the Billboard Dance 100 Artists of 2018 list. Earlier this year, ODESZA attended the 60th Annual GRAMMY Awards to celebrate their first two nominations: Best Dance/Electronic Album for A Moment Apart and Best Dance Recording for “Line Of Sight (feat. WYNNE & Mansionair).”

ODESZA Tour Dates:

Thu, Mar 29 – Seattle, WA – WaMu Theater

Fri, Mar 30 – Seattle, WA – WaMu Theater (SOLD OUT)

Sat, Mar 31 – Seattle, WA – WaMu Theater (SOLD OUT)

Sat, Apr 7 – West Dover, VT – Minus Zero Festival

Sun, Apr 8 – Sun Peaks, BC – SnowBombing Festival

Sun, Apr 15 – Indio, CA – Coachella

Wed, Apr 18 – Pomona, CA – Fox Theater (SOLD OUT)

Fri, Apr 20 – Phoenix, AZ – Wild Horse Pass Hotel & Casino

Sat. Apr 21 – Palm Springs, CA – ODESZA/Foreign Family Collective Day Party @ Day Club Palm Springs

Sun, Apr 22 – Indio, CA – Coachella

Wed, Apr 25 – Kansas City, KS – Providence Medical Center Amphitheater

Thu, Apr 26 – St. Louis, MO – The Pageant (SOLD OUT)

Fri, Apr 27 – St. Louis, MO – The Pageant (SOLD OUT)

Sat, Apr 28 – Indianapolis, IN – Farm Bureau Insurance Lawn at White River State Park

Tue, May 1 – Charlottesville, VA – Sprint Pavilion

Thu, May 3 – Pittsburgh, PA – Stage AE

Fri, May 4 – Cleveland, OH – Jacobs Pavilion

Sat, May 5 – Cincinnati, OH – PNC Pavilion at Riverbend Music Center

Sun, May 6 – Memphis, TN – Beale Street Music Festival

Wed, May 9 – Raleigh, NC – The Red Hat Amphitheater

Thu, May 10 – Charlotte, NC – Charlotte Metro Credit Union Amphitheatre

Fri, May 11 – Louisville, KY – Iroquois Amphitheater

Sat, May 12 – Nashville, TN – Ascend Amphitheater

Wed, May 16 – Jacksonville, FL – Daily’s Place

Thu, May 17 – Orlando, FL – CFE Arena

Fri, May 18 – Miami, FL – Bayfront Park Amphitheater

Sun, May 20 – Gulf Shores, AL – Hangout Music Festival

Fri, Jun 15 – Morrison, CO – Red Rocks Amphitheatre (SOLD OUT)

Sat, Jun 16 – Morrison, CO – Red Rocks Amphitheatre (SOLD OUT)

Sun, Jun 17 – Dover, DE – Firefly Festival

Fri, Jun 29 – Marmande, FR – Garorock Festival

Fri, Jun 29 – Sun, Jul 1 – Beuningen, Netherlands – Down The Rabbit Hole

Fri, Jul 6 – Roskilde, DK – Roskilde Festival

Sat, Jul 7 – Gdynia, Poland – Open’er Festival

Thu, Jul 12 – Dour, BE – Dour Festival

Fri, Jul 13 – Madrid, ES – Mad Cool Festival

Sat, Jul 14 – Ferropolis, DE – Melt! Festival

Sat, Jul 21 – Jakarta, ID – We The Fest

Fri, Jun 27 – Tokyo, JP – Fuji Rock Festival

Sun, Jun 29 – New York, NY – Panorama

Thu, Aug 2 – Sun, Aug 5 – Chicago, IL – Lollapalooza

Fri, Aug 3 – Montreal, QC – Osheaga Festival

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

Alice Pisano Releases Stripped Down Version Of “Stay”

It’s out now on Vevo the stripped back live video of Alice Pisano’s latest single …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.