Home / News / HOUSEHOLD Premiere New Video “Dark Matter”

HOUSEHOLD Premiere New Video “Dark Matter”

Minneapolis natives Household are thrilled to share their brand new video, “Dark Matter,” premiering now via New Noise Magazine. “Dark Matter” comes from the band’s latest album, Everything A River Should Be, which has recently been featured on Substream Magazine and Alternative Press. Everything A River Should Be is available now via Equal Vision Records at household.merchnow.com.

On “Dark Matter,” vocalist Joshua Gilbert shares: “‘Dark Matter’ is a nod to our older sound. With a generally slower and more melancholic album, it was fun writing a faster track. This song captures relationship at its worst, the extremes or negative energy causing havoc.

Everything A River Should Be is a record that redefines who and what – and even why – the Minneapolis trio are. Anybody familiar with the music the band – vocalist and bassist Joshua Gilbert, drummer Matthew Anthony, and guitarist Nathanael Olsen – made before will immediately hear the shift in sound of these 11 songs. While the urgency and sincerity of the raw and visceral post-hardcore they began life making remains, Everything A River Should Be is a collection of dense, dark and brooding songs full of a tense, glowering atmosphere.

Lyrically, too, the album – which was recorded over the course of a month by Nate Washburn at Atlanta’s Glow In The Dark studios – marks a change in approach. Not only is this the first time the band have really had any production on a recording, but Gilbert says he has never written from the heart so much or presented so much of himself – and his emotions and fears and insecurities – within his songs.

The songs touch on some close-to-home feelings for me,” he says. “It’s much more of a personal expression of my own emotions – it’s not so much a declarative thing, as some of our music has been in the past. It’s more personal and vulnerable in a lot of ways.

The band is on tour now with Senses Fail, Reggie & The Full Effect, and Have Mercy. For a full list of remaining dates, please see below or visit: www.equalvision.com/tour-dates.

Everything A River Should Be Tracklisting:

  1. Away

  2. It’s Easy To Feel Rotten

  3. Dark Matter

  4. Don’t Listen To Me

  5. Misiziibi

  6. Far From Me

  7. Scared To Be

  8. Dreamer

  9. Shore Slipper

  10. Safe World

  11. Bloom

Upcoming Tour Dates w/ Senses Fail:

3/27 – Portland, OR @ Hawthorne Theatre

3/29 – San Francisco, CA @ Slim’s

3/30 – San Diego, CA @ The Observatory North Park

3/31 – Las Vegas, NV @ Brooklyn Bowl

4/3 – St. Louis, MO @ Fubar **

4/4 – Indianapolis, IN @ Hoosier Dome **

**Denotes show w/ Have Mercy ONLY

For More Information, please visit:

Website: www.householdband.com

Facebook: www.facebook.com/Householdmusic

Twitter: www.twitter.com/Householdmpls

Instagram: www.instagram.com/householdmpls

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

James Worthy Releases New Single (I Can Tell ft DJ Luke Nasty)

James Worthy, is back with his much anticipated new single “I Can Tell” which features …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.