Home / News / Andrew Duhon Announces Solo-Penned, Eric Masse-Produced ‘False River’ (5.25) as follow up to GRAMMY-nominated album

Andrew Duhon Announces Solo-Penned, Eric Masse-Produced ‘False River’ (5.25) as follow up to GRAMMY-nominated album

New Orleans based Andrew Duhon will release ‘False River’ on May 25, 2018, as the follow up to his GRAMMY-nominated album ‘The Moorings’ (2013). Duhon wrote all 11 tracks on new record solo, and thanks to an afternoon at a dive bar in East Nashville called Mickeys, he enlisted ACM Award-winning producer Eric Masse to tell his story. That story is now set to the tune of Myles Weeks on bass, G Maxwell Zemanovic (tours with Miranda Lambert) on drums, Jano Rix (The Wood Brothers) on Keys, and background vocals by Rayland Baxter.

Initially, Ralph Waldo Emerson’s essay ‘Self Reliance’ sparked Duhon’s artistic will. One line especially, “To believe that what is true for you in your private heart is true for all men.” This statement began the resounding question for Duhon, “What is it that I have to say?” That idea of innermost truth resonated most vividly with Duhon when listening to old delta blues and folk singers. It was simple music and hard-earned truth that bore a weight greater than the sum of its parts. It was personal, and it seemed to cost the artist something dear.

‘False River’ is Duhon’s reflection of five years of his own “costs,” love and loss, the fading of the fairytale, and a more complex version of what his love might be coming into focus. “When colleagues asked what this new record was about, I’d say ‘these are the last letters I may ever write her’ not wanting to believe it,” says Duhon. “Love has proven to me to have the capacity to be a complicated thing. I wouldn’t call any of these songs happy or sad, but they are about love.”

Tracks like “Comin’ Around” and “Heart of a Man” set the tone of the record, establishing a complex juxtaposition of love — being present and willing in a situation while still yearning for the unknown. Nostalgic dreams are found in “They Don’t Make Em’,” a deep reflection on the idea or myth of ‘happily ever after,’ and “Street Fair,” an effort to grip the city of New Orleans’ true beauty post-Hurricane Katrina. Death is addressed in “Mississippi Be My Guide,” the messiness of casual love is explored in “Gotta Know,” and an ode to the road and brotherly camaraderie can be found in the album’s closer “Easy Ways.” Simply put, love takes all shapes and forms, and there are many ways to define it, guide it and let it guide you.

Duhon’s live show also reflects the simplicity of such a complex nature, usually performing solo or with a trio. He’s performed at Bonnaroo, Austin City Limits, Voodoo, Hangout, and Cayamo, and he’ll return to Jazz Fest this year for a performance on Sat., Apr. 27. For tour dates and ticket information, please visit andrewduhon.com.

‘False River’ tracklist:
1. Comin’ Around
2. Heart of A Man
3. They Don’t Make ‘Em
4. No Man’s Land
5. Let You Down
6. Gotta Know
7. Street Fair
8. Mississippi Be My Guide
9. Still Holding On
10. Go It Alone
11. Easy Ways

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

Queens Rapper MRG Provides A Lesson In Love In Eerie New ‘Brokenhearted’ Video

Dominican-American rapper MRG (Queens, NY native Matthew Raymond Guzmán) shares the striking visuals for his new …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.