Gabriella Cohen announces new album on Captured Tracks. Unveils first single + video, “Baby”. ‘Pink Is The Colour Of Unconditional Love’ out June 1

Australia’s sweetheart, Gabriella Cohen, returns with her sophomore album, Pink Is The Colour Of Unconditional Love. The album’s opener and first single”Baby” was born in the graveyard of unrequited love, yet morphs into a remarkably catchy, feel good number.

Watch “Baby” on YouTube

On Pink Is The Colour… Cohen pays homage to her musical influences by inviting the listener on a journey: from the grooves of bossa nova, to the lilting sentimentality of strings, to kicking it back on the sprawling highways of rock ‘n’ roll. Honest heartache is woven into glory throughout the record, and during eleven tracks a candid, almost ethereal self-portrait of its songwriter emerges. For Gabriella Cohen, it’s an epitaph of electric wonder, and a definitive fact: Pink is the Colour of Unconditional Love.

Cohen moved to a farm in countryside Victoria, Australia in summer of 2017 to record and self-produce the album with engineer and partner-in-crime, Kate “Babyshakes” Dillon. There, amidst flocks of screeching white cockatoos and herds of Black Angus cows, they etched the beginning of Pink Is The Colour Of Unconditional Love. The record was almost complete when the band was invited to join Foxygen’s US tour, compelling the girls to finish the album on the road. Armed with a microphone and an interface, Dillon and Cohen captured the final touches of the album on a boat in England, and the coast of Portugal; in the mountains of Southern Italy, cafes of Mexico, and finally in Venice Beach, Los Angeles.

Throughout the new album Cohen (flanked by a choir of imaginary dolls that exist in her head) creates complex and sugary backing vocals. These signature vocal arrangements – contoured with classic harmonies and nostalgic melodies – form songs remarkable in their originality.

Gabriella Cohen

Pink Is The Colour Of Unconditional Love

Captured Tracks 

June 1, 2018

Pre-order Here

 1 – Music Machine

2 – Baby

3 – I Feel So Lonely

4 – Miserable Baby

5 – Mercy

6 – Change

7 – Neil Young Goes Crazy

8 – Recognize My Fate

9 – Morning Light

10 – Hi Fidelity

11 – Sky Rico

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

SK and The Kings Releases New Single “831”

SK and The Kings return with a gorgeous new offering ‘831’ LISTEN HERE Born from …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.