Home / News / CUT WORMS ANNOUNCES DEBUT ALBUM, HOLLOW GROUND, OUT MAY 4TH VIA JAGJAGUWAR

CUT WORMS ANNOUNCES DEBUT ALBUM, HOLLOW GROUND, OUT MAY 4TH VIA JAGJAGUWAR

Born with a knack for conjuring fine images and warm sounds with a curious underbelly, Midwestern-bred, New York-based Max Clarke will release Hollow Ground, his debut album as Cut Worms, on May 4th via Jagjaguwar. In conjunction with today’s announcement, Clarke is presenting lead single, “Don’t Want To Say Good-bye,” and an accompanying animated lyric video created by John Andrews. Clarke will embark on a North American tour supporting King Tuff on the album’s release date, and this month, he plays SXSW.

Cut Worms’ songs crackle with the heat of a love-struck nostalgia: golden threads of storytelling, like visceral memories, woven together with a palpable Everly Brothers’ influence and 50s/60s naiveté. While most of Hollow Ground was written in Clarke’s current home of Brooklyn, a number of songs on the album bloomed from Clarke’s time living in Chicago, including “Like Going Down Sideways” and “Don’t Want To Say Good- bye.” Both gleam with new life after initially appearing on Cut Worms’ debut “Alien Sunset” EP, released last fall. The record was recorded in Los Angeles at the home studio of Foxygen’s Jonathan Rado, and New York with Jason Finkel at Gary’s Electric. Clarke handled most of the instrumentation throughout, playing guitar, keyboards, bass, and lap steel.

Hollow Ground is imbued with a sharp, self-aware lyricism; Clarke shows an affinity for evocative storytelling, striking the balance between cerebral and simplicity. Sometimes, on Hollow Ground, we find characters impossibly lustful, sometimes brooding, while in other parts they fumble along, hopeful and painfully selfaware. His songwriting both evokes and explores the raw realm of youth, its weightlessness and possibilities, but channels it through the lens of someone more restrained, who’s been through it all before.

Watch “Don’t Want To Say Good-bye” Lyric Video –
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y6AbR7W-u2o

Listen To “Till Tomorrow Goes Away” —
https://youtu.be/hSgKjJbhhm0

Hollow Ground Tracklist:

1. How It Can Be

2. Coward’s Confidence

3. Don’t Want To Say Good-bye

4. It Won’t Be Too Long

5. Till Tomorrow Goes Away

6. Like Going Down Sideways

7. Think I Might Be In Love

8. Cash For Gold

9. Hanging Your Picture Up To Dry

10. Mad About You

Pre-order Hollow Ground –

https://cutworms.lnk.to/hollowground

Cut Worms Tour Dates:

Tue. March 6 – Amsterdam, NL @ Paradiso

Wed. March 7 – Paris, FR @ Olympic Café %

Thu. March 8 – Brussels, BE @ AB Salon

Wed. March 14 – Austin, TX @ Cheer Up Charlies – AdHoc Unofficial SXSW Day Party (12:45 PM)

Wed. March 14 – Austin, TX @ Hotel Vegas – Desert Daze Official SXSW Showcase (9:30 PM)

Thu. March 15 – Spicewood, TX @ Luck Reunion Festival

Thu. March 15 – Austin, TX @ Hotel Vegas – Levitation Unofficial SXSW Day Party (6:30 PM)

Thu. March 15 – Austin, TX @ Barracuda – Secretly Official SXSW Showcase (10:05 PM)

Fri. March 16 – Austin, TX @ Hotel San Jose – SX San Jose Unofficial SXSW Day Party (1:00 PM)

Fri. March 16 – Austin, TX @ Mohawk – Mohawk All Are Welcome Unofficial SXSW Day Party (2:15 PM)

Thu. May 3 – San Diego, CA @ Casbah *

Fri. May 4 – Phoenix, AZ @ Valley Bar *

Sat. May 5 – Santa Fe, NM @ Meow Wolf *

Mon. May 7 – Houston, TX @ Rockefeller Hall *

Tue. May 8 – Austin, TX @ Barracuda *

Wed. May 9 – Dallas, TX @ Club Dada *

Fri. May 11 – New Orleans, LA @ One-Eyed Jacks *

Sat. May 12 – Atlanta, GA @ The Earl w/ King Tuff

Sun. May 13 – Nashville, TN @ The Basement East *

Mon. May 14 – Lexington, KY @ The Burl *

Tue. May 15 – Cleveland, OH @ Beachland Tavern

Wed. May 16 – Washington, DC @ Rock & Roll Hotel *

Fri. May 18 – Brooklyn, NY @ Music Hall of Williamsburg *

Sat. May 19 – Philadelphia, PA @ First Unitarian Church *

Sun. May 20 – Boston, MA @ Brighton Music Hall *

Mon. May 21 – Montreal, QC @ L’escografie

Tue. May 22 – Burlington, VT @ Higher Ground *

Wed. May 23 – Toronto, ON @ Horseshoe Tavern *

Thu. May 24 – Detroit, MI @ El Club *

Fri. May 25 – Chicago, IL @ Lincoln Hall *

Sat. May 26 – St. Paul, MN @ Turf Club *

Tue. May 29 – Denver, CO @ Globe Hall *

Wed. May 30 – Salt Lake City, UT @ Urban Lounge *

Fri. June 1 – Seattle, WA @ The Crocodile *

Sat. June 2 – Vancouver, BC @ Fortune Sound Club *

Sun. March 3 – Portland, OR @ Star Theater *

Tue. June 5 – San Francisco, CA @ The Independent *

Thu. June 7 – Los Angeles, CA @ Teragram Ballroom *

Fri. June 8-Sun. June 10 – Sonoma, CA @ Huichica Music Festival

Fri. Aug. 3 – Sun. Aug. 5 – Happy Valley, OR @ Pickathon Festival

# w/ Marlon Williams

% w/ Dent May

* w/ King Tuff

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

JEFF BECK Announces U.S. Tour Dates This September

JEFF BECK will add five solo shows to his 2019 U.S. touring schedule. In addition to the …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.