Squeeze release new video starring Simon Day

Squeeze have teamed up with fellow South Londoner Simon Day (Fast ShowThe Life of Rock with Brian Pern) for the brand new video for single ‘Rough Ride’.


‘Rough Ride’ is taken from their 15th studio album, The Knowledge, which has received universal critical and commercial success. On this album, Glenn Tilbrook and Chris Difford felt something needed to be said about the current state of British welfare crisis.  A sombre note of austerity echoes across ‘Rough Ride’, lamenting the struggles faced living in the capital, its ultimately hopeful message enriched by guest performers also from South London, namely the Lewisham & Greenwich NHS Choir and the Thorntree School Choir.

Featuring choral arrangements and a Freddie Hubbard-esque trumpet solo, culminating in the biting question “Austerity, austerity, is that all you have to give to me?”  this is Squeeze at their most socially conscious and musically ambitious.  It also shows an evolution in Squeeze’s songwriting, with Glenn taking up the lyrical mantle for this particular tune. Chris Difford comments, “As I listen to this now I can’t get over how well the band are sparking, it’s a well-tuned engine at its best. Glenn wrote this one and I’m pleased that he did, it’s something I would have found difficult to convey with such accuracy. Simon plays some wonderful drums on this while Stephen leans to the soul of the song.”

Squeeze’s political stance has also made an impact with the general public during their 24 date UK Tour, becoming a stand-out track amongst fans and garnering praise from publications such as The Scotsman, who states: “From the latter record, they champion the NHS and – most effectively of all – scorn the legacy of unaffordable housing and austerity which their generation has left their children,” in their 4 star review of Squeeze’s Edinburgh show.

“Cameron was talking about knocking down sink estates and rebuilding “affordable housing”. I have four children, and I despair at what has happened to the economy and to UK house prices. It has got to the point where people are no longer able to live in the areas where they grew up unless they have some sort of financial help. I think that’s a result of a system of values that have been encouraged by this government, which is completely wrong – and it wasn’t helped by the previous government either”.

Produced by Glenn, Andrew Jones and Laurie Latham, ‘The Knowledge’ was recorded at 45 RPM Studios in Charlton, and finds Glenn and Chris once again in the company of drummer Simon Hanson and keyboard wizard Stephen Large, plus a couple of new faces; Yolanda Charles on bass and Steve Smith on percussion.

‘The Knowledge’ tracklisting:

1.                   Innocence In Paradise

2.                   Patchouli

3.                   A&E

4.                   Every Story

5.                   A Rough Ride

6.                   Departure Lounge

7.                   Final Score

8.                   Please Be Upstanding

9.                   The Ones

10.               Albatross

11.               Elmers End

12.               Two Forks

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

Floorbird Release New EP ‘Fall Apart Anywhere’

Philadelphia emo/punk quartet Floorbird have premiered a new music video. “Pale Blue Dot” is taken from Floorbird’s …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.